Skip to content

End of May update

May 30, 2008

For the big picture, my net worth increased from $18,815 to $23,881. I’m pretty sure that’s the biggest step yet–over $5k! The biggest jump was, as usual, in my retirement accounts. Not only did I have my regular retirement savings, but I added about $200 extra to my 401k through increased contributions (since it was a 3 paycheck month), added $300 extra to my Roth IRA (from stimulus), and received about $1100 in a pension cash out from my last job, which went into my rollover IRA. The rest of the details are available at networthIQ (see sidebar).

My goals weren’t as nice. I met two of the four.

  1. Save $1400 in E-fund: Since I used sent $300 unplanned to the Roth, I expect the best I could do was $1100. I increased it by $1125. I’m going to say success for this!
  2. Stay within $145 grocery budget and be a winner in Krystal’s challenge: I went over, but just by a dollar. So, fail, but not a big one.
  3. Pending knee pain, resume running at minimum 2x a week: Oh. My. Gosh. 100% fail on this, and I can tell because my mood/anxiety have been less controlled.
  4. Add $250 to T-Fund (travel), $150 to car fund, and $100 to gift fund: T-fund increased by $285, car by $155, and gifts… actually the fund itself didn’t increase because I bought both a mother’s day and a wedding present this month, but I allocated $120 for gifts this month. That was the spirit of the goal, so I’m going to say success for this one.

June Goals:
1. Resume running habit. Seriously. Two times a week isn’t much, so I’ll start with that again.
2. No new clothes this month. I got a swimsuit, yoga pants, and a pair of shorts in May, so I’m still at -$45 for my clothes budget, despite allocating an extra (gulp) $70 from my stimulus check for clothes. I started out May at almost -$100, so I did make some improvement. I need to get it in the black before I spend any more on clothing
3. Stay within June Budget. Seriously this time! I adjusted some categories, and I should be able to do it.
4. Read a book. Preferably one that I already own.

Pretty boring, but my budget really encompasses my savings/spending goals.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 7:21 am

    I’ve been a non-runner my whole life and only recently have been trying to (its more of a brisk walking and some half-assed jogging, lol). Since I’ve started to though, its made SUCH a difference in my mood! Even when I’m just walking around I have an extra bounce in my step. It could also be because I’m a few pounds lighter.

    Ditto on the clothing…although I just saw that new commercial for Target’s new designer, and I LOVED the swimsuit! I really don’t need another swimsuit though…

    I didn’t do too well with my goals either, but I suppose I did make some progress with them. I can’t believe the month is over!

  2. May 30, 2008 7:31 am

    I have to admit that I’ve fallen in love with running before work…it’s easy to get to bed early too…since I don’t have cable or internet!

  3. May 30, 2008 8:11 am

    I used to love running, but now that BD does all the marathoning and his 5-10 miles/day habit seems crazy, I’m a bit too intimidated to get back into running. I should just get my head back on straight by finding a good running partner and just doing it, but I need someone who is as out of shape as I am!

  4. May 30, 2008 3:18 pm

    @QL – I definitely think it is the exercise. I’m at a completely heathly weight, almost underweight (ew), but when I work out, I feel 100% better even if I change nothing else. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Saving Diva – I don’t do mornings… hehe. Maybe I should try though. I’ve been sleeping like crap too, but i slept fine when I ran in the evenings

    @msminiducky – maybe we should be running buddies! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. May 31, 2008 8:41 am

    You’ve done fabulously!

    I should mention that running is actually one of the worst things for your body as an exercise… it hurts your spine and your knees pretty badly. But I totally get the appeal of running…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    WOW ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe your net worth jump. I am SO happy for you!

  6. May 31, 2008 8:50 am

    @FB thanks for the support! Now, roughly $1800 was “extra” (stimuls + old job pension), but I’m still excited!.

    And running…. eh, it’s better for my body than NOT running (at least short term)

Leave a Reply

