Skip to content

Rattling car

June 10, 2008

Last night I was heading home and heard an unusual rattling noise coming from my car when I accelerated.  Hoping it was a fluke, I turned of the radio and accelerated several times.  Each time, a metallic rattling noise rose up from the front of my car.  Shoot.  It was still there when I drove to work this morning.

My car is a 2000 with roughly 80k miles, so some repair work is not unexpected.  Last fall I had to get new brakes and a new battery, but since then I’ve only had a couple oil changes.

I looked up some car repair shops on Yelp! and found one that sounded reputable and wasn’t too far away. I called and arranged an appointment for Thursday morning, and they confirmed there is a rental car place down the street.  (In the Midwest, my car repair place gave me a loaner car to drive.)  The car rental will cost about $30 each day.  I hope it will just be the one day, but it might be longer.  The diagnostic will be free.  The repair work is TBD, naturally.

I’m a little embarrassed to admit this is the first time I’ve arranged a car repair all by my lonesome.  I didn’t even call my dad (he doesn’t actually know that much about cars) or T (he’s busy with finals and would just tell me to take it in anyway).  Of course it is part of being an adult, but I just don’t like things like this.  “We’re adults.  When did that happen?  And how do we make it stop?”

I currently have $307 in my car fund, with another $60 allocated to the fund for this month.  I hope that the repair will be under $367, but it is hard to say.  If not, I’ll pull from other categories in my budget and from my e-fund if needed.

This car fund is supposed to double for car savings and car repair.  I hope it will grow over time and eventually be enough to purchase a new car.  At this rate, I’ll be able to buy something new in about 25 years…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2008 10:32 am

    I hate that… I have a good ear for what’s “normal”, whether it’s the amount of force I have to apply to the gas pedal (true story) or sounds clicking, rattling or whining, or the feeling of the steering wheel when it comes to my car. There have been numerous times where the mechanic has said to me, “I don’t know how you heard (saw, felt) that… I wouldn’t have noticed unless you told me exactly what you heard (saw, felt)!”

    Deep breath 🙂 I hope it’s nothing major! It could be like my heatsink on the underbelly of my car – it came unwelded in one corner and was rattling down the highway with me everytime I hit 40 or above. I took it in, and they simply removed it, since it wasn’t a safety issue or anything. They charged me something like…$25 for the procedure, all together.

  2. June 10, 2008 10:54 am

    I hope its nothing major either! This is precisely what scares me about cars…I feel so clueless!! And I totally agree about it feeling weird to be doing these “adult” things…that’s how I felt when I scheduled my first solo dentist appointment a few years ago! lol.

  3. June 10, 2008 11:38 am

    Look at it in a positive light — it’s the FIRST TIME 🙂

    Many people go through many many many repairs… consider yourself lucky!

    And I hope it won’t eat your fund 😦

  4. June 10, 2008 11:41 am

    Good luck! Hope it isn’t too pricey. My car is out of warranty (it’s a 2002 with about 54K miles on it) – I’ve had to replace the front AND back tires during college, and I just had to have the breakpads replaced! I always get the work done at a local car-specific service center, because they give you a 1-year warranty on whatever work they do. 🙂

  5. June 10, 2008 11:47 am

    Perhaps this is a perfect time for you to try out bus to get work instead of renting a car for $30.

  6. June 10, 2008 11:53 am

    @Amphritrite – I’m not so good with finding faults, but this one was obvious!

    @QL – haha, I’ve made my own appointments for awhile, but cars are just… I’m embarrassed to say I just wish a boy would do it for me!

    @FB – Are you trying to scare me with the ‘many repairs’? Haha! I hope it is minor, but who can know?

    @MoneyMaus – That is a good idea, I’ll have to see if they offer any warranty on their work.

    @chicky – If i only had to get to/from work, this would be more workable. Even getting to/from the repair shop will take an hour by bus and I’m already going to have to go into work late. I hate the argument about valuing time more than money, but in this case, I’m willing to spend the $30 to save me the time. If the repair ends up taking longer than a day or two, I think I would reconsider.

  7. aladyinred permalink
    June 10, 2008 4:00 pm

    Out of curiosity what kind of car do you have?

    It wouldn’t by chance be a Toyota Camry, Corolla, Sienna, or Santa Fe would it?

  8. June 10, 2008 8:44 pm

    @aladyinred – nope, it is not. It is a dodge.

Trackbacks

  1. Lucky me! Twenty Dollars to fix my car! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

