Skip to content

Lucky me! Twenty Dollars to fix my car!

June 12, 2008

The rattling in my car was due to something broken in my exhaust. The nice muffler shop had to weld it back together. The whole operation took less than a 20 minutes, and they charged me $20. I realize that is over $100/hr, but you can’t expect them to fix too much for less than $20.

I’m a happy girl. Looks like my car fund will increase this month after all.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    June 12, 2008 5:24 pm

    Awesome!

  2. June 12, 2008 5:38 pm

    Don’t you love it when that happens? So much better than, “Oh, this problem can only be fixed with X part shipped from Japan for $200 plus labor costs”

    Glad your car is ok.

  3. June 12, 2008 5:43 pm

    It’s always nice when things turn out much cheaper than expected! πŸ™‚

  4. Always Private permalink
    June 12, 2008 6:35 pm

    work on your math.. $20 for 20 minutes = $1 per minute

    $1 per minute x 60 minutes per hour = $60 per hour.. not $100

  5. June 12, 2008 6:36 pm

    That’s awesome! Micah was slightly worried by a screw in our tire recently. He took it in to the dealership and they took it out, examined it carefully and said that it was just stuck in the ridges, no damage to the tire itself. No charge! πŸ™‚

  6. jay permalink
    June 12, 2008 7:22 pm

    Yay! High Five to your Dad!

  7. June 13, 2008 4:45 am

    Whoo-hoo! Thats a great feeling to have.

  8. June 13, 2008 5:37 am

    That’s incredibly cheap!!

  9. June 13, 2008 5:44 am

    Wow! I’ve never had a car repair like that! I was charged $90 for them to plug something back in (which they had knocked out during some body work).

  10. June 13, 2008 9:27 am

    Seeeeeeeeeee? I told you I told you I told you! NEH πŸ˜›

  11. devil permalink
    June 13, 2008 2:19 pm

    Yippee!! Isn’t that a nice way to start the weekend?

    Doesn’t twenty dollars for twenty minutes add up to sixty dollars per hour? πŸ™‚

  12. June 13, 2008 2:23 pm

    What? There isn’t 100 minutes in an hour? Well, I stand by my statement because I think it took exactly 12 minutes. So there. πŸ™‚ (Just kidding. I swear I’m good at math, just not arithmetic. Or attention to detail. Or something!)

    @Everyone – I was so happy too! And surprised

  13. June 13, 2008 6:51 pm

    this is really good deal. Every time, I walked into a garage and ended up paying hundreds except oil change. Maybe you did some good small talks:)

  14. June 14, 2008 8:09 am

    That is unbelievable! You are really lucky to have found such a nice mechanic. Most places will charge you just for you to drive your car into their shop! Perhaps you can even post the name of the place for those living in LA.

Leave a Reply

