Skip to content

Casual Friday

June 20, 2008

My apartment doesn’t have air conditioning, so I’m sitting out on my balcony as I write this (Thursday night). It is still 77 degrees and it is 9:12 pm. Usually I don’t even miss A/C since I’m close enough to the ocean that it doesn’t get too hot. I got a report from my old apartment, summarizing my energy costs throughout the year. I spent roughly $30-$40 in the temperate months, and up to $80 in the cold of winter (slightly less in the summer). How much does an old box fan cost to run per and hour? Did you know that L.A. actually has a rather small carbon footprint for its population? This is mostly due to the temperate climate, not to any real efforts of the citizens.

Speaking of my balcony, I love it, even if it just has two camp chairs and an empty flower pot (maybe I should try a cactus). My hummingbird feed has been extremely popular in the last few weeks, since the near-by flowers on the sidewalk went out of bloom.

Speaking of heat, it is going to be 80 this weekend, even close to the coast. We were going to go for an easy hike, but I think a day at the beach is in order instead.

By the way, I had ice cream for dinner today. Yes, that is it. No, not a lot. I wasn’t hungry so I went straight on to desert. I had tuna salad on crackers plus a healthy serving of steamed (microwave) veggies for lunch, so the veggies are covering for the ice cream. So it is alright. Besides, it was absolutely FREE because I was a winner in Sugarlaws Hรคagen-Dazs giveaway, worth $3! (Sorry, it is over, but she does offer many nice recipes for free!)

That’s all for today. Since it is Friday, no serious topics will be covered today. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2008 8:00 am

    Ice cream for dinner is one of the best things about being a grownup.

  2. June 20, 2008 9:10 am

    Sounds like so much fun – and I love ice cream, especially Haagen Dazs, and it is once of my vices due to its price! (I recommend the Green Tea, White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle & Caramel Cone) ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. diningoncents permalink
    June 22, 2008 1:48 pm

    Do you have a Costco by you? My bf and I just purchased these AMAZING fruit sorbets. They are called “Island Ways” and the package has 12 different fruit sorbets packed into actual scooped out fruit. I had pina colada sorbet in a pineapple shell for lunch, it was delicious ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. June 26, 2008 6:04 pm

    I was in San Fran this weekend and had brought sweaters, jackets since it’s on the coast. “It’ll be cold,” everyone told me.

    Then we hit 114 degrees in Sonoma on Saturday!!!!!!!! What in the world, right? Thankfully it did cool off pretty quickly, but that was something.

Leave a Reply

