Skip to content

End of the Month Stretch

June 26, 2008

It is nearing the end of the month, the most difficult time of my budget. While I’ve already exceeded my food budget, all that I have to do to meet my overall budget is get through the weekend. The overall budget is what really counts to me.

What do I have left? Basically, I have $14 left budgeted towards “personal” items (beauty/hair), but I don’t want to spend that because I’ll need a haircut next month. (Side note: Frugal or Cheap–cutting your own bangs with non-hair scissors?) Other than that, I have $39 left for “misc”, and nothing left for anything else.

With that $39, I need want to do:

  • Go out tonight: T has arranged for some of his friends to meet up at a bar near where I live, then he’ll come stay with me. On a weeknight, yay! I’m also happy because his married friend and wife is coming, so it won’t be just 4 guys and me or something lame like that. Anyway, $15, or less. I’ll eat first and have just one or two drinks since it is a work night.
  • Feed us at least one yummy meal this weekend: I’m thinking I think I’ll buy stuff for these calzones (thanks Spilling Buckets!), which will require
    • tomato sauce
    • mozzarella cheese
    • sausage or pepperoni (check prices!)
    • spinach (for salads and calzones)

    Maybe $12? $15? We’ll see. If I have money left, I’ll could get some more exciting salad toppings.

That is it! I think it will be cooler this weekend so we are going to do some easy hikes for fun. Maybe we’ll drive downtown and explore that one day too. Or if it is hot again, beach time! I have enough other food to survive on, and if we do decide to indulge in alcohol, we already have stuff to make little summery drinks ourselves.

I also was given an extra $50 for gas money, since T‘s mom and sister used my car to cart us around to universal studios, the Tonight Show, and other destinations. This isn’t in my budget, but I’ll probably fill up on gas this weekend and use that. Well, not directly since I like to get the cashback, but in my mental accounting, I’ll use that.

I’m excited because I really have the potential to meet my budget. I’ve only been using official budgets for a couple months and while I’ve been close for a few months (withing $20) this may be my first month meeting the budget!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 11:27 am

    I think the comparison is not frugal or cheap so much as: good or bad idea? Are you good at cutting your own bangs? It’s always been a minor disaster when I’ve done it.

    And good job on being so close to being on budget!

  2. June 26, 2008 3:18 pm

    I always go over my budget 😦 very frustrating. My new plan is instead of budgeting for every pay period, I will budget per week and see where my money is really really going. BTW, thank you for adding me your blogroll!

  3. June 28, 2008 6:27 am

    If you try the calzones let me know how they come out.

    Feel free to leave your experience in a comment on the post, so other people can use it as reference. 🙂

    Oh so yummy… I have a craving and might make those tonight too.

  4. tshipp permalink
    June 28, 2008 6:31 am

    Ohhh budgeting… “End of the Month Stretch” is right! Well done on keeping to it! Most of us don’t have the self control to handle your predicament that way!

    PS- nice blog. 🙂 I really like your net worth graph!

Trackbacks

  1. How I lost my (Craigslist) virginity and broke my budget « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

