Skip to content

Why I buy cheap sunglasses

June 26, 2008

So yeah, I could get a case. I could, you know, be CAREFUL with them. I’d rather just buy cheap ones. I don’t wear them as a fashion statement (well, not really, though I may purchase trendy ones), I don’t wear them as a status symbol, and I mostly wear them at the beach or in the car. Designer sunglasses? They just aren’t my thing. There is so much more I’d rather spend my money on. Sunglasses for $25 to $50, I might consider, but that is probably the limit.

I do (sort of) get why a person wants designer sunglasses. You can wear them a lot, you can love them a lot. Just like I do (sort of) get why a person might carry designer handbags. It just isn’t something I do. There is no way that is in my budget, and it isn’t something I place a high value on. So I’ll stick to my cheap-o sunglasses, and have only momentary pain when I find them squashed at the bottom of my beach bag.

PS – I know the shape/style of my sunglasses is sort of “out”. They were purchased for sailing, so functional. I’m kind of glad I have a good excuse to get cuter ones.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 5:58 am

    I used to wear my cheapest frames to the beach or pool. I was always scared of getting my “good ones” scratched (by the sand or from falling), lost (into the ocean), or full of sunscreen or tanning oil. As long as they provide UV protection, that’s the most important thing, right?

  2. June 26, 2008 6:14 am

    I just bought a hard case for new pair of sunglasses that was $10…with a $25 pair of sunglasses….Now I can throw them in my bag and not worry about them. However, I wear my sunglasses most of the time that I’m outside during the day.

  3. June 26, 2008 7:40 am

    I’m still wearing the $1.00 pair that I bought last summer. 😉

  4. June 26, 2008 7:52 am

    Hehe, I just FINALLY threw out the two pair that I broke nearly the same way. Oh, well, I dropped my laptop on my second pair, but close enough.

  5. June 27, 2008 4:59 am

    My favorite pair of sunglasses cost me a quarter at a garage sale a few years back. Unfortunately, I lost them last year. My other pair of sunglasses are being held together by tape at the moment (not too big of a deal as I only wear them in the car) but I’m shopping for new ones.

  6. June 28, 2008 6:25 am

    This is random, but related…

    I work in Visual Science, and this involves a lot of research on vision and how the brain works, etc. And we’ve done studies with sunglasses…

    Be careful with the sunglasses you buy – wearing sunglasses actually increases your chances of developing eye damage because the UV light still comes in the sides and hits your nose area, which is where most people have problems. It makes things worse because you stop squinting and your pupils stay larger than they naturally would be in bright light, thus increasing the exposure to UV and radiation. So make sure you get really large glasses that cover the side exposure. The best ones are the ones you get with the side bar like a lot of old people wear… not so stylyish, I know.

    Also – other than style – there is no difference in quality of lenses with designer vs. ultra cheap glasses.

    Just my personal health rant.

  7. May 26, 2009 5:58 am

    Well we should not believe cheapest designer sunglasses as it may have low quality and also it looks alike as original sunglasses. So if at all any retail store great deal in sunglasses should also look the quality and the standards it has.

Leave a Reply

