Skip to content

June Budget Wrap-up

July 2, 2008

I’m doing my june wrap-up slightly differnt this month. I’m just going to paste a picture of my end of the month budget spreadsheet.

I should note that I adjust the “Budget” column through the month to attempt to get everything to add up (which depletes the “misc” cushion). This allows me to adjust for surprise purchases. For July, I added a column that will stay fixed so I can see what I thought I wanted to spend at the begining of the month.

Also, a lot of the categories are really “funds” and the excess goes into (or comes out of) my short term savings account.

While I did go over on gas, this isn’t quite accurate as T’s mom gave me $50 gas money in return for using my car when they visited last month. I went slightly over on entertainment, but I had money left in the fund, so I’m just a couple bucks short. I also paid for my half our our hotel for our August vacation, so besides the $100 I had budgeted for travel, I took $47 out of the travel fund.

All in all, not too bad. I think if I didn’t budget carefully, I could easily spend the extra $300 savings line item.

I updated my final June networthiq, and things went a little downhill. No worries, mostly just due to the drooping market. I stuck close to $1000 in this month, yet the balance is down by just over $1000. Seems backwards! I’ve been focusing mostly on retirement savings, so my cash reserves didn’t increase much to cover that. The good thing is, everything in my short term savings isn’t counted (with the exception of my car fund), so all my cash gains should stick. I used to hate how it might jump around with vacations or insurance payments.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2008 12:05 pm

    Love the use of the spreadsheet! What’s your take on budgeting software? I don’t like it much… the old-fashioned spreadsheet works great if you know a little programming.

    Love the blog- just discovered it the other day!

  2. July 2, 2008 1:27 pm

    @tshipp – Thanks! I don’t know. I tried pearbudget and mint, and they are ok. But I found I would rather have more control over how I want to enter and view my data. And you don’t even really need programming, just know how to put simple equations in! Google docs works fine.

    I do use yodlee moneycenter to gather some information… and I actually probably would like !uicken or Microsoft money, but I like free even more!

  3. July 2, 2008 3:01 pm

    That’s good feedback- never really used pearbudget or yodlee moneycenter. I’ll have to look into them.

    I have, however, used Quicken- not impressed. I don’t know; maybe that’s because I’m a little more simple. 🙂 Not sure… It’s definitely got a lot to it; the fact that you can connect your investment bank accounts and your regular bank accounts is pretty cool. Helps to keep you absolutely current on everything, especially if you’re constantly checking your net worth.

    And by the way… Networthiq is GREAT!

  4. July 3, 2008 3:02 am

    You did great!

    I also love using the traditional Excel spreadsheet because I couldn’t se Quicken, Yodlee or pear budget without getting mad at it lol.

  5. July 7, 2008 12:11 am

    Great job!! i think i will start doing something like this to track down my finances…

  6. July 7, 2008 6:15 am

    It looks like you did pretty well this month! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

