Skip to content

June Goal Results, July Goals

July 3, 2008

I think I had goals in June. I wrote them down and then promptly forgot about them. I didn’t think about them once all month! As you will see below, that is not a recipe for success.

1. Resume running habit. Fail, better luck next month! Actually, my knee pain seems to have vanished and I have started running again already.
2. No new clothes this month. Fail, I got a work jacket, a work tank top, and work jeans. I blame this post linked to by Fabulously Broke (enabler!) for my inspiration. She always has great round ups, even when the lead to shopping.
3. Stay within June Budget. Fail. The sad thing is, I drafted this post before I failed, so I had to delete my green success and replace it with this line. This is covered one post back.
4. Read a book. Half success, i started to re-read “East of Eden” (it has been awhile and it is on my bookshelf). But I didn’t finish. Actually, this is quite lame, but T and i started reading it together, alternating chapters. But that is not a recipe for speed!

Wow, that is a lot of red! Here are some other accomplishments that staying within close to the budget entailed: (See, I don’t completely suck!)

  • Saved $308 to Roth IRA, and over $400 to 401k (plus match), even though my retirement balance went down (boo, markets!)
  • Added $572 to emergency savings. (Some of this was cash leftover from May’s abundance, but it wasn’t flowed into the Efund until this month.)
  • Increased gift fund to $185 (increase of $60)
  • Paid for hotel for Vegas trip, but kept travel fund at a healthy $268
  • Increased car fund by $40 (and paid just $20 for a repair) to $350 (Slightly pathetic, but progress still)
  • Saved $105 for insurance
  • Procured some boogie boards and spent a day on public transit (more to come on that… maybe…)

For July, I will…..

1. Resume running habit, 3x a week or more. Except I really will, and already have been this week. And it feels so good! Also, incorporate more strength training, because that is what I really need to do.
2. Clothes: Quality strapless bra (checking with Nordstrom’s first, thanks girls!), inexpensive sunglasses, keep within clothing budget. Start to look around for quality brown work shoes, since my current ones are awful.
3. Stay within July budget, (with extra focus on grocery + dining out).
4. Finish my book. Start a new one!
5. Add $25 extra to travel fund ($125 total) to prepare for my August vacation.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. sfordinarygirl permalink
    July 3, 2008 10:58 am

    Nordstroms also has the best return policy! Seriously if you wearit and it still doesn’t work, take it back and try another one. It might help to go for several fittings with different people – I’m going back for the second time this year – I don’t know if it’s the weight loss but my straps keep falling off!

    Happy 4th!

  2. July 3, 2008 3:55 pm

    LOL!!!

    Sorry babe 🙂

    Just trying to do my job to be a shopaholic + saver lol….

    *hugs* you’ll do better next round!

Leave a Reply

