Skip to content

Weekend Report

July 14, 2008

Friday night brought on a craving for white wine, so I bought two bottles, and even managed to save one for a future weekend.  T contributed $10, by way of forgiving the fact that I owed him $10 for bowling + food from the previous night.  By the way, I bowled a 168, which is pretty amazing for a non-bowler crowd.  I actually was a little embarrassed because no one was taking bowling seriously.  I wasn’t really either, I just did my best and happened to kick everyone’s butt.  Ha!  Bowling itself was only $2 via a coupon, but shoe rental was $4.50.  Since this isn’t a bowling blog, I’ll move on.

We bought lunch Saturday for $10 each, and I don’t believe we did anything else that required money.  We sat by the pool for a bit and had a really relaxing day.  Sunday we went hiking in the morning, but it quickly got too hot to stay long.  I paid to park for $7, which was a mistake.  We could have parked for free had we done better research and walked a bit.   Why would a park charge so much just to park??? Later, after my legs were already shot, we went to the LACMA, and he paid $7 to park there.  Again, I think we may have been able to do street parking for free, but we weren’t prepared.  Admission was complimentary for us both, and I loved the new modern art building.

Oh, I also attempted shoe shopping at DSW, but left empty handed.  I shouldn’t be shopping anyway, but I swear new shoes are a need, not a want.  Well, one pair is a need, but beyond that it is more of a want.

The only thing I dislike about online shopping is the waiting part…  Tracking information hasn’t been updated since Friday for my order from Cabela’s, and none of my clothes seem to have even shipped yet.

That is my log of my weekend spending.  It adds up pretty quickly, even when I think I’m being frugal.  (Ok, I wasn’t really even under the illusion that I was being frugal last week.  Frugal habits to be reinstated starting now.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 8:25 am

    I think parks charge so much for parking because that money goes to help maintain the park. Hopefully that is where the $7 went and not into government bureaucracy.

  2. July 15, 2008 8:29 am

    @asgreen – yes, that is probably true, but I have this entitled feeling that nature should be free. Even though I suppose they have to maintain the trails, etc….

  3. July 15, 2008 9:19 am

    Ooof, you and me both, sister! I just added up the weekly spending from my daily notes and the totals are quite a bit higher than they should be. Must. Stop. (Also, if I could stop ruining my clothes, that’d be a step in the right direction.)

  4. July 15, 2008 12:02 pm

    Hi – – I’m wondering if you have any hints on how to add the tracker widget you have on the side bar? I’d like to add something similar, and am having no luck. Thanks!

  5. July 15, 2008 12:56 pm

    thanks so much!!

  6. July 16, 2008 5:12 am

    Ooo… bowling! We went this weekend too.

    I found a new mystery shop site, and one of them was bowling free. We got 2 games for 2 people, shoes, and $8 in food for going. It was a blast.

    🙂

    I didn’t anywhere near 168 though. Ry did – he’s pretty good. “a natural”

Leave a Reply

