Skip to content

Maybe tomorrow. . .

July 15, 2008

Maybe my frugal habits will resume tomorrow.  Today, I ordered 3 books on Amazon.  The good news is, I can resell them later on if I need to (at a slight loss).

Before you say “go to the library!”, recall that I have $12 in library fines anyway. No, that isn’t the real reason I didn’t go to the library.  I’ll have to pay that eventually.  The books I got are basically trail guides/travel books to help me plan a trip this fall, and hopefully many more trips around California over the next few years.  I certainly did not need three, but I did “need” one.

The bad news is… What is wrong with me?  Why would I buy books this month?  I haven’t bought any books all year, I think.

I think I’m off the hook for going home this summer (~$350).  My dad isn’t pushing for it anymore, since they all are coming here in October for a cousin’s wedding.  I wanted to go home, but I don’t have much vacation time, so it could only be a long weekend.  I just didn’t know if it was worth it, even though seeing the family and friends would be great.  I could deduct this from my travel fund, since the point is planning a trip.

I’m not looking forward to making the numbers add up this month.  I’ve been doing so well the past couple months, but I think I broke.  The thing is, I really shouldn’t loosen my budget any further to allow myself more freedom to spend.  I wouldn’t be comfortable with saving any less than I am.

Maybe next year, things will be less tight…  Provided I don’t have to change jobs…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 8:01 pm

    Hey- that’s why we have budgets, I suppose. Not that we always hit them or that we always feel good about our spending, but that we feel guilty enough to want to make a change.

    And you’re right… you don’t want to loosen it up unless you’re having problems hitting your figures each month. If it doesn’t put some strain on you, it’s not doing its job.

    Good for you for feeling a little guilty!

    Oh, do I know that feeling!

  2. July 16, 2008 9:42 am

    As long as you’re mostly meeting your budgets, one bad month won’t totally derail your plans. It just feels worse because you’re making all of the purchases around the same time. For example: Remember I was feeling like I had spent way too much money on clothes? This was because I spent like $250 within 2 weeks, but I never actually went over my budget (although this was just because said two-week period straddled the end of a month).

    Don’t stress too much!

Leave a Reply

