Skip to content

100 push ups

July 17, 2008

I’ve noticed several pf bloggers doing the 100 push up challenge. First, girls, are you doing all out push-ups or modified style?? If you are doing them normal style, I’m extra impressed!

Anyway, I started the program Tuesday night. While I never had any burning desire to do 100 pushups, I do have a desire to increase my strength.

What I really need is an overall strength training program, sans gym. I have access to a “gym” at my apartment, with a (yes, one) weight machine. I am more comfortable with free weights.  I have 5 lb and 10 lbs, which should get me through a several weeks before I need something heavier. Weights at 15 lb are $20 each. At that point I probably can make friends with the weight machine rather than cluttering up my life with more weights. I like working out in my living room, but it is unnecessary.

I’m not trying to lose weight or anything, just improve my overall fitness. Hiking will be a lot more enjoyable if the hikes are easier for me, so I want more strength and endurance. I also have a faint dream of hiking Half Dome in Yosemite, but we probably wouldn’t do that until sometime next year anyway. Next month we are going to the Grand Canyon, and I have to select some hikes to do.

I’m a little limited in my fitness spending, so I mostly run, hike, and workout and do yoga in my living room. I just don’t have the budget for it.   I’ve been talking about rock climbing for awhile, but I can’t justify the cost yet. It isn’t that expensive, but it is more expensive than free and I don’t know how to do it yet. I also want to take a two-weekend surfing class, even though I am pretty sure I’ll never actually really learn to surf. Real yoga classes would be sweet. And sailing classes? I could continue those. I’d like to buy a bike, but I don’t think I’d ride it to work often enough for it to actually pay off (the route isn’t very nice). Still, I can do a lot and have fun just by sticking with activities I don’t need to spend much money doing. One thing at a time, and right now, that thing is camping/hiking.

By the way, I just got two tickets for Dark Night (matinée) for $8.75 using this promotion from Discover Card/Fandango. Great deal for L.A.!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 11:05 am

    I got an awesome vintage Schwinn on craigslist for $100! Sure, it maybe weighs as much as me, but its orange and lets me aspire to be a “bike to worker” but I don’t feel guilty if I don’t bike everyday, because I didn’t lay down $2000 for a fancy new bike. If you aren’t picky (or are, in the case of my orange schwinn) and think you might benefit from biking to work, I’d recommend checking out some old school used bikes 🙂 They are definitely more budget friendly!

  2. Janet permalink
    July 17, 2008 12:10 pm

    I do regular push-ups, but I am in the “weakest” category, so it’s not too bad. I have only made it through 2 days, so I’m not a good example yet, but I would like to get stronger. I did Half Dome when I was in better shape than I am now and it kicked my ass, but it was a great experience, I highly recommend it as something to do once.

  3. July 17, 2008 3:07 pm

    Ha ha–you beat me to making this post!

    I also have no desire to do 100 pushups necessarily, but the upper arms are my only “problem” area I’d like to work on–belly dance keeps the rest in shape. What a perfect solution–and my boyfriend has agreed to do it with me. We’re doing the test tonight.

    I’m also all about the Discover/Fandango promotion! It’s a great deal here in NYC as well.

  4. July 17, 2008 9:02 pm

    Rocking climbing is so great! My wife and I went about a week ago, and she completely SMOKED me! My man-pride was greatly injured!

    There is so much technique involved. I’ve learned that it is 95% about technique and about 5% strength.

    Still… you work a lot of different muscles that you didn’t even know existed. The problem, however, is that it is way too expensive. I can’t justify the added expense to do it regularly. Our monthly fees to the gym is good enough.

    Keep up the good work on those push ups!

  5. cait permalink
    July 18, 2008 6:03 am

    Right on! The 100 push-ups program is very cool!
    For more on this topic I want to recommend Maggie Wang’s awesome write up on free no-gym fitness: http://maggiewang.com/2007/09/24/fitness-on-a-budget-part-2-the-nearly-free-no-gym-required-workout-plan
    and also youtube–there is so much stuff on there for how to do all sorts of body-weight only exercizes (and yoga–there are a lot of cool yoga routines on there too). Makes it super easy (and super cheap) to work out in your living room!

  6. July 18, 2008 8:34 am

    Yosemite’s Half Dome hike is a superb adventure. I’ve done it 22 times. The views and sense of accomplishment are worth it. Folks need to prepare though…it’s not a walk-in-the-park. Water, boots, hiking poles and gloves for the cables – and be in top shape! I’ve written the only hiking guide to Half Dome and suggest it for you. It is called “One Best Hike: Yosemite’s Half Dome.” It is available at REI, amazon.com, and bookstores. I also have a website and daily blog dedicated to safely doing this strenuous hike. See http://www.hikehalfdome.com

    Rick

Leave a Reply

