Skip to content

Chocolate for sale!

July 18, 2008

I’ve been at my job about six months, and I still don’t know where the closest vending machines are (and no desire to find out!)

I regularly troll check out the break room around 1 p.m., because that is where people put the food left over from lunch meetings.  This week alone I found some rice with a delicious spicy green sauce yesterday (there was also some meat, but I passed), a piece of bread Tuesday, a nice salad Monday, and some cake another day!  They make nice bonuses to the afternoon, and I have to eat less of my food for lunch or dinner.  This week was extremely fruitful, there usually is much less food, sometimes none for a whole week.   I might be able to score more if I patrolled more than one floor, but that just seems greedy!

Anyway, today I discovered someone put an entire box of candy in there, selling for $1 for a fund raiser!  If I’m going to pay $1 for chocolate, I’m not buying M&M’s!  (I like to get those nice bars on the “impulse buy” stand next to the checkout at Trader Joe’s for $2.)  Why must they taunt me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2008 12:59 pm

    I’m the only girl in an office full of men, and I’ve done several stints where I was the youngest in the office, and even one where I was on a college campus! Wherever I go, people seem to be worried that I’m some poor college kid who can’t afford to feed herself, so I end up getting free food at work all the time!

    Plus, I go home, and, living in an apartment building where the average age is 65, I find baskets of things on my doorstep – muffins from the lady next door, squash from the gentleman gardener two floors down, apples from the landlord…

    Yeah 🙂 My favorite price is free!

  2. July 18, 2008 5:33 pm

    My work provides free pastries to all employees. I go in the morning for some sort of muffin and I avoid the donuts! (They have bagels as well, but those are also not very healthy.)

    People in my department like to bring in items they have baked so there is usually cupcakes or cake or some type of dessert in the kitchen on my floor. Yum! 🙂

  3. July 18, 2008 7:11 pm

    The prospect of free food in the break room at 1:00 PM is my reason for getting up in the morning. There is always food there but the secretary sends out email to the whole floor and says that only people invited to blah blah blah meeting (which I am NEVER invited to) are allowed to take food. I head back at 1:15 PM but all of the other bottom-feeders beat me to everything.

  4. July 19, 2008 8:39 pm

    Your post cracked me up…

    Way to mooch!

    Honestly, if it’s being offered, why not take it?! My work does something similar; however, it becomes problematic when it’s JUST pastries and other unhealthy items.

    Save money or be unhealthy… ??

    Sadly, I continue to munch on my carrots and broccoli. 😦

  5. July 20, 2008 6:46 pm

    I am about to start selling chocolates to raise money for me to go on a missions trek to Japan…I will be tempting many people with my chocolate love 🙂

  6. July 26, 2008 8:48 pm

    There is junk food all over the place at my office……..I’m constantly drinking 6 water bottles during my work day to keep full and not fall into the temptation. My co workers b-day was this past week and they brought in cookies which was right next to me. I gave in (just since it was his b-day lol) and ate 3 of them. I think there are 6 left. I bet the 6will still be there Monday morning……

Leave a Reply

