Skip to content

Car spending, again

July 21, 2008

My check engine light is back, and I’m pretty sure I have the gas cap screwed on tightly this time (the most common cause of check engine lights coming on).  I’ll double check that (by screwing it on and driving for about 50-100 miles), then bring it to Autozone for a free reading of the code.    I learned that check engine lights, while not trivial, generally don’t have to be fixed immediately unless they are blinking.  Within a week or so, sure, but not within an hour or day.

I (ok, my boyfriend) also found a nail in my tire, so we (he) added some air and I’m getting it removed tomorrow.  I also need an oil change, stat.  I think I’ll just get the oil change done at the place that is removing the nail.  An oil change there is a little more than elsewhere at $25, but not unreasonable.  I don’t know how much the nail removal will be.  You’d think not much, but…  you never know.

I’m not going to the place that gave me a great deal on my muffler problem, but somewhere closer and more convenient.  If the check engine light turns out to be less than trivial, I’ll bring it to the guy that referred me to said muffler shop (after he checked out my car for free).  Not to be specific about my exact location, I will only disclose that I found him on yelp and he had great reviews, so you can do the same for locations near you.

I hate my car sometimes, but paying these miscellaneous things is still far less expensive than a new car.  Besides, any car can drive over a nail!  I have about $400 in my car fund, we’ll see how much I need.  My car probably is due (overdue) for a car wash as well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2008 5:04 pm

    That is really cool that you have a car fund for things such as this. Cars are always an expense by they are a great tool for getting places.
    Hope it doesn’t cost you too much

  2. July 21, 2008 7:46 pm

    Boo for car expenses. Good thing they’re covered by the car expense fund, though. Hope it turns out well!

  3. July 22, 2008 10:46 pm

    I second that, Revanche- BOO! Funny enough, SP, I posted about that today too because I spent over $250 on an oil change, battery replacement, and tire replacement. UNBELIEVABLE!

    Such is life…

    Maybe I’ll just ride a bike. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Vacation Stories « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

