Skip to content

July Budget Results

July 31, 2008

Extra income: $66 (bulk of this from some random incentive pay of $51

Spending Highlights:
Clothes:
New M+0 Hoodie, $20 (wanted)
New BR summery top $30 (wanted)
Brown work flats, $31 (needed)
Sunglasses, $19 (needed)
Workout, $10 shirt and $4 socks (needed)
Underwear, $27 (needed that day, because I forgot to pack them (!), but overall, just wanted)

Other significant purchases:
Sleeping bag, $80 (needed, if I wanted to go camping)
Books, $41 (wanted, but really love)
Beach umbrella, $12 (\wanted)
Magazine Subscription, $20 (wanted, impulse bought)
Conditioner, sunscreen, facewash, flossers, other toiletries, $30 (needed)
Car repairs: Oil change $25, tail light $5, tire repair $17 (needed)

I didn’t do that well this month, but it wasn’t too bad either. I still hit my savings goals. The major overage was in entertainment and clothing. I never spend so much on entertainment! I classified the magazine and beach umbrella in entertainment, along with alcohol purchases, parking when we go to things, and I bought a couple iTunes TV shows. Hmmm…. I need to watch that!

I updated my budget a little for August, based on my calculations that I’m behind on travel and gift savings. I’m also going on vacation for about 6 days, which is going to make budgeting a little more complicated. Generally, I’d think food, gas, and fun money while on vacation comes out of the travel fund, but if I’ll be spending 20% of the month out of town, it seems like some should come from regular monthly expenses. Does that make sense, or am I over complicating things?

Goal and networth updates to be posted tomorrow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 11:35 am

    Well done!

    Are you using Google Docs or Excel?

    We had the same problem this month with our entertainment fund; we ended up going camping with some friends, and it ended up costing us a bundle more than we had planned.

    Some months are better than others…

  2. July 31, 2008 11:40 am

    Just google docs. Not as powerful but I can access it anywhere. You use excel?

  3. July 31, 2008 7:25 pm

    “Generally, I’d think food, gas, and fun money while on vacation comes out of the travel fund, but if I’ll be spending 20% of the month out of town, it seems like some should come from regular monthly expenses. Does that make sense, or am I over complicating things?”

    Ah .. my favorite budgeting trick! Say I go on vacation for one week. Spending on groceries, gasoline, and even things such as electricity and water for the whole month go down. So in this case it is OK in my book to sieve the ‘saved’ money from the monthly budget and use it for vacation. The monthly (non-vacation) spending stays the same as any other month. I always take all of the money for gasoline, food, etc. related to the vacation from vacation budget and not my regular budget.

  4. July 31, 2008 7:59 pm

    Sp: Yeah- I use excel. But I don’t know if I do anything on Excel that I couldn’t do with Google Docs.

    What’s more powerful about Excel that you could practically use with a budget that Google Docs doesn’t allow you to do?

  5. July 31, 2008 8:12 pm

    For budgeting, I suppose nothing fancy excel does is needed. Except maybe graphs, I’ve only tried minimally, but have had very little luck making cute graphs in google docs

  6. July 31, 2008 9:56 pm

    “Cute” graphs… 🙂

    I never considered that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

