Skip to content

July Goal Results, August Goals

August 1, 2008

1. Resume running habit, 3x a week or more. Success! Well, ok, one week there was only two little x’s, but I have good reasons. And average was great.
2. Clothes: Quality strapless bra, inexpensive sunglasses, keep within clothing budget. Start to look around for quality brown work shoes. Fail, let’s just not talk any more about clothes! (Did get the sunglasses and shoes.)
3. Stay within July budget, (with extra focus on grocery + dining out). Success. I guess. The numbers add up, groceries and dining out were fine. I just don’t feel very successful!
4. Finish my book. Fail. Eeek. I obviously don’t care about reading any more. I did listen to the Alchemist on my iPod.
5. Add $25 extra to travel fund ($125 total). Success!

August is going to be a difficult month to set goals for, since I’ll be on vacation for part of it. I’m going to put a bunch of little lame goals in, so I can get more successes next month. 🙂

1. Continue running, get new shoes, run in the a.m. before work at least three times (hey, I’m not a morning person, it is a start).
2. Stay in vacation budget while having a blast.
3. Start side job. This isn’t a goal so much, as I have little control over it… but I think it is really going to happen this month!
4. Schedule doctors appointment, and dentist too.
5. Figure out cable/internet situation. Promo rate ran out, there’s no way in heck I’m paying $100!
6. Fill out transfer credit request form for school
7. Oh, and get a student ID card too (yay discounts!)
8. Have a happy interim review with manager, where he tells me how great I am.
9. Get my free miles (spend $500? what a horrible pf goal!), and make decision about flying home in September.
10. Work extra hours before and after vacation to flex at least 8 hours of it.
11. Sign up for career development class. I did one of these in the spring, and it was a little annoying, but I may as well take advantage of it. I’ll have little time once August is over.

Goal overload? Yeah, maybe, but some of these are just life tasks I need to do anyway.

I need to post these in a nice prominent place so I remember to think about them this month.

The running in the morning thing seems like a good idea, since as soon as school starts I’m going to need to be extra disciplined and manage my time really effectively. It’ll be difficult. I’m not a morning person, and staying in bed a little longer always seems great. I’ve also been in the habit of reading (and sometimes writing) blogs before work, which is a sort of silly waste of time. Now is the time to start integrating effectiveness. By the way, i suspect blogging will go down (but not away).

I also want to make it a point to be more productive at work, as much as possible. For awhile, they weren’t providing me with enough assignments, and it was frustrating, but I’ve had challenges all week, yet I feel ineffective. I need to push myself. This isn’t really a goal that can be quantified, but it really is the highest priority of all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2008 10:22 am

    3/5 for success from July is great! Good luck with your August goals 🙂

  2. sfordinarygirl permalink
    August 6, 2008 12:32 pm

    Have you thought about a white board or cork board where you can easily visualize and see your progress? I have a cork board though it’s not hanging properly, it reminds me of my goals.

Leave a Reply

