Skip to content

Ouch!

August 4, 2008

Ouch.

I bought new running shoes this weekend. Also, insoles. I have nice arches that collapse when I run/walk. At least on the right knee, the pained knee. Now rather than saying ouch because my knee hurts, I say ouch, because I spent a heck of a lot of money. Not just the shoes, either. I’m still happy about them. Unless I drastically increase my mileage, they should last a year, and it is a small price to pay for fitness and a happy knee.

We also stopped by REI to continue to gear up for our grand canyon trip. We are car camping, so technically, we don’t need anything too special. However I’ve been formulating plans for us to do some hard core backpacking. One thing I was excited about when I moved to California is the access to all sorts of awesome nature. We have a rough plan to do this sometime next year (honestly, we can’t afford to until we live together), so I want to buy things that will be versatile for car camping and real backpacking (meaning, lightweight). We will likely need/want a new tent for that, but we are holding off and considering having it be a Christmas present to each other.

I bought a camping mat ($25), another water bottle ($10) because they recommend a liter/hour in desert hiking, a tarp ($6), and a hat to keep the sun off my face ($20). The hat will be useful for running as well. And a knife sharpener, but that isn’t for camping. Tom bought a little swiss army knife type tool and a water bottle.

The guy at the register asked to see my ID with my Visa, saying he wanted to make sure I wasn’t using a stolen card. I told him if I was, I would have bought a lot more stuff. Like a $200+ tent, a camp stove, several pairs of socks, a couple cooking dishes, and a new better backpack. And some clothes!

But I wasn’t a credit card thief, so those things will have to wait.

The rest of the weekend was inexpensive and low key. Beach, pasta, cheap Rose wine on the balcony, cheap ice cream, Sunday L.A. times, mexican take out, and grilling with his friend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2008 7:08 am

    LOL “If it were, I’d buy a lot more”

    Nice. 🙂

  2. August 4, 2008 10:58 am

    What kind of shoes did you buy? How much did you spend?

    DETAILS! 🙂

    I bought the Asics Evolution…Spent about $117

  3. August 4, 2008 11:13 am

    I got Etonic Kendari for about $120, plus insoles for $20. They said my foot was narrow, and also gave me a size bigger than my normal shoe (who knew?)

    I may try somewhere else next time to see if I get different recommendations. I would love to not have to buy insoles separately or to find an $80 shoe that works well. If this is really the best option, I can pay $140/year. But I’ll be sad about it!

  4. Niki permalink
    August 4, 2008 6:12 pm

    Mizuno Wave Riders are my fave running shoes. They’re much more comfortable than the Asics I was fitted for at a local shoe store.

    I’m an REI fanatic. Surprisingly, I went there this weekend and didn’t buy a thing. I guess there are only so many sleeping bags, tents, packs, etc. a person can own.

    Check out Havasu Canyon if you haven’t already. The waterfalls and scenery are awesome. It does get busy, though. My trip pics – http://dzrtgrls.com/havasu_cyn_backpack/havasu_cyn_backpack.html.

  5. August 4, 2008 8:03 pm

    I’ve been thinking about starting to run semi-seriously in some local races for the first time. As such, I am starting to look into buying my first pair of serious running shoes. In your experience, how important would you say it is to go to a specialty store and actually speak with/get fitted by a knowledgeable salesman? Any recommendations brand wise? Thanks!

  6. August 4, 2008 8:19 pm

    @nikki – I haven’t yet! I’m only slowly getting into backpacking now, but I’ll be sure to add that to my list and check out the picks

    @Cheap or Frugal – I’m somewhat of a beginner myself. I just picked out my own shoes, and you can see how well that worked for me (ended up with knee pain and in a specialty shop many months later). If you think you might give up easily, I wouldn’t spend $120 on shoes, but if you are REALLY serious, yeah, I would say a running shop would be really helpful.

  7. Kris permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    If your arches collapse upon weight-bearing you’ve got a condition known as flexible flat feet. Contact me if you’d like more info on it and how it may be corrected.

Leave a Reply

