Skip to content

Good-bye cable TV!

August 6, 2008

My six-month promo for my cable/internet package recently ended. This resulted in Time Warner calling me several times a day (during work, so I did not answer) and never leaving me a message, trying to get me to sign up for their VOIP phone to get a new promo. No thanks!

Oh, and paying $108/mo for DVR, cable, and internet, when last month I paid $57? Also, no thanks! They did offer me a new deal at $84/month, but that still wasn’t enough for me to justify having the cable, so I asked them to just cancel it.

I also requested that they bump me down from their highest speed internet to a lower speed. I did this in my previous apartment, and it was fine, though my podcasts and itunes episodes took longer to download. Everyone thinks they need high speed internet, but he lower speeds will suite a lot of people just fine for sometimes half the price. If you watch streaming video, you may have some issues. In fact, I may have issues, since my new TV plan is to use the internet. It worked fine, until everyone stared having HD streaming. I am not a fan! Am I a luddite? For now, I just don’t need to watch anything.

I might purchase subscriptions to my absolute favorite shows (grey’s anatomy and gossip girl) on iTunes. I have season 1-3 of Grey’s, and I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve rewatched the series more than once. Ok, I’m a little ashamed. I am not a movie girl, and I like watching familiar shows before bad. I suppose the subscriptions are expensive?

Oh, my point? I sent a $108 check to Time Warner, because a girl has to pay bills when they show up, but the service they are billing me for is this month. I should get a big credit on my next bill. After that, I can adjust my budget from the current $57/mo down to something more like $35/mo. A small savings, but it should help me be more productive with my time.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2008 7:16 am

    Giving up cable was hard for me too….look for free shows on the websites

  2. August 6, 2008 7:38 am

    I agree with your last statement…right now I have about 6 channels (seriously) and you wouldn’t believe the time I waste watching TV. Can you imagine how much time I’d waste if I actually had things on TV to watch? lol. No thanks on cable for me. I like your idea on getting the slower speed internet. I’m sure it’d be annoying, but for a significan discount I’m willing to be a little annoyed. About how much do you think that will cut down the price?

  3. August 6, 2008 8:30 am

    @QL – just call and ask. Here the standard speed is $45 (and some turbo speed is $55), a lower speed is $35, and the lowest is $25. Some people it might be necessary for high speed, but some people mostly just blog and email, and you really don’t need 5Mbs for that! 🙂

  4. August 6, 2008 9:47 am

    My new roommate and I got the rabbit ears set up last night and discovered that we get absolutely no television stations. I guess I’m definitely going to get Netflix since I do feel the need for occasional mindless fun.

  5. changejar permalink
    August 6, 2008 10:03 am

    In my last apartment, I realized that we had cable tv, but barely ever watched it. Also, if I did watch it, it was to watch old movies or old episodes of tv on Bravo. My solution? Ditch the cable (saving me about $40/month) and I joined Netflix for $17.75 (3- disc at a time unlimited – includes taxes — they also have cheaper plans). I now watch my favorite tv shows and movies on dvd, and now I catch up on all the HBO and Showtime shows for very cheap! As a side bonus, this also helped me cut down on my habit of buying so many dvds.

    I also watch a lot of shows on the internet for free — I recommend http://www.hulu.com and also abc.com.

  6. August 6, 2008 5:06 pm

    Grey’s Anatomy, huh? Hey- we all have our vices. 🙂 Mine is Prison Break right now, and it’s killing me! What a terrible addiction!

    Way to cut costs!

  7. August 6, 2008 8:04 pm

    You can totally watch all of those hit shows on the internet free. You might have to wait a few hours after a new episode, but that is about it. I watched greys anatomy and desperate housewives the day after the new episodes aried on tv. Just visit the network they are on–nbc.com or abc.com ect. And I agree with changjar—we love netflix–you can even watch movies on your computer without waiting for the disc–not the latest, but still if you are itching for a good movie to watch and you don’t have anything recently in the mail from them, then you would go online and serf their instant movies.

  8. August 6, 2008 9:02 pm

    iTunes? Watch the episodes on the station website. It works with Road Runner Lite 768Kbps.

    Or you can download the episode on file sharing.

  9. August 6, 2008 9:14 pm

    For most shows, I’d watch on the internet for free, but like i said, for my favs, I might not mind owning the episodes. And i don’t do illegal file share. But i’m glad to hear that the shows work on Road Runner Lite!!!

    Also, I’m not much of a movie watcher, but netflix is an option i’ll keep in the back of my mind. Still, I’d rather not do that unless i’m feeling bored without it.

  10. June 18, 2010 2:23 pm

    I used to watch familiar shows before going to bed too. But then I sold the TV from the bedroom. Instead, I pay more attention to what my body is telling me. For instance, I used to put in a Sex and the City DVD, turn on the TV’s sleep timer and watch until I’d fall asleep. Now I’ll turn on an episode of something from Hulu on my laptop, but as soon as I realize I’m getting close to sleep, I turn off the laptop, put it on the nightstand and go to sleep.

Trackbacks

  1. Bookmarks about Cable

Leave a Reply

