Skip to content

And out for dinner too!

August 8, 2008

When I complained to T about my lunch experience, he reminded me of the time we went out with a group of about 7 people a few months ago for sushi.  The waitress did not separate the bill (what is with that?), so we each took turns getting out our calculators and figuring out our share.  This seemed sensible since we had ordered a wide variety of meals, and some got drinks, and others didn’t.

Each share was figured out, and we wrote down how much to put on each card.  Done!

Except the waitress brought the slips to sign, and she said to my friend “Oh, it didn’t all add up quite right, so I put the extra on yours.  It was just a little off.  I hope that is ok!”

First, it did all add up perfectly, the waitress just screwed up and charged another girl about $15 too little.  I also think she gave herself a little bit extra tip, besides the gratuity that was already included (she sucked anyway).  Second, no, it is not ok!  Just a little off?  It was almost $20 off!

What a pain in the butt!

I’m going out again tonight with a large group.  You better believe we will get our own checks!  (Or, I’ll just get on T‘s check.  Hehe.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2008 3:40 pm

    I hate that! I have a group of friends that I go out with and I always feel like I end up paying more than I budget for dinner. One time we went out to a place where they had family style dining. Well I was planning on just having salad because I was dieting and ended up that they split the bill between everyone equally. So I ended up paying $30 for the salad and a piece of bread and my drink. So not fair. But I didn’t want to be the one person who said something so I didn’t. Sometimes I try and insist on separate bills but the restaurant doesn’t do that.

    Just last weekend I went to a restaurant with my IL’s and BIL’s and when the bill came they automatically included the tip, but my IL’s who aren’t from the US didn’t get that and kept trying to tip on top of the bill. When I explained it was already included, they thought i was being cheap and insisted the waiter deserved a tip…so they paid above what the bill was…someone was happy that day!

  2. August 8, 2008 6:22 pm

    Wow… talk about a SHAFT! Isn’t that the worst? And it’s not like you want to make a big scene out of it, right?

    Hope that Sushi was good! 🙂

  3. August 9, 2008 6:52 am

    Luckily I haven’t had this happen TOO often to me during my lifetime, but I certainly know there are many, many times to come… and I know I’m not looking forward to them! Sigh. Sorry you had to endure that 😦 It’s a HORRIBLE way of people getting out of “over-spending” lol

  4. devil permalink
    August 9, 2008 8:24 am

    Sorry about your bad experiences at the sushi place AND CPK. I’ve never had anything but terrible service at CPK, and neither has anyone I’ve known.

    I always insist on my own check. I don’t care if the waitress has to write out 8 different checks. She’ll get tipped accordingly. And she’ll be tipped very well by me if the service is even decent.

    I hate eating out in large groups. Anything larger than a party of four is too big for me. Too many different LOUD conversations and too much people-drama.

  5. Stephanie permalink
    August 9, 2008 8:47 am

    So what did you do when the waitress tacked on extra?

  6. August 9, 2008 10:33 am

    In this case I lucked out. Our slip was fine, it was my friends’ that was screwed up. They just paid it, and one girl owed the other like $20. How annoying.

    And last night, they wouldn’t do separate checks. Of course, when everyone handed their cash in, we were $25 short. Annoying.

Leave a Reply

