Skip to content

Dream Budget

August 12, 2008

My hobby: Making budgets for situations that will not happen for at least six months, if not more.

This is all very much irrelevant, and I wasn’t planning on posting about it. But can’t help it!! I made my dream budget, based on what our new rent would be, assuming we get to move where we want. I also assumed a 50/50 split with me paying utilities, but we’d work out what we really want to do when the time comes.

Still, here is what I like to call my “dream budget”. This assumes: a) I switch health plans b) I’m not laid off (v. important!) c) I’m in school half time while working

In reality, this would eventually be discussed/negotiated with T, but its my blog and I can be the dictator on it if I want to be. This doesn’t include the two “extra” paychecks that biweekly budgeting provides. Charity budget would come out of those. Estimated Net is after health, taxes and 401k.

401k, 15% $10,350
Estimated Net $38,831
Four week Net
$3,064
Rent $550
Efund $200
Roth IRA $385
Cable/Net $35
Grocery $155
Student Loan $50
House Fund $375
Utilities $40
Insurance $105
Grocery $155
Restaurant $100
Home $35
Personal $35
Gas $200
Car/Car Fund $50
Gift/Fund $100
Travel/Fund $170
Long Term Travel $175
Entertainment $70
Misc/Flexible $79

.

Isn’t it beautiful? 🙂

The main difference is the addition of a house fund (well, likely a condo I suppose) and a Long Term Travel fund. I also increased my regular travel fund so I should be able to go home as needed. I don’t have any concrete plans yet, but we want to move abroad for a few years when T is done with school. It would be nice to have some money set aside to travel before starting a new life. There is always the efund, but is travel really an emergency? (Sometimes it sure seems like it!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 11:13 am

    Ha, I do this!
    I will be so envious if you only have to pay $550 for rent!

  2. Becca permalink
    August 12, 2008 2:01 pm

    I do this as well. In fact, I not only have one saved for my new raise coming soon, but I had one before our move in June for the NEXT year’s possibilities. It reminds me of what will happen to my plans if I buy whatever shiny toy has just caught my eye.

  3. karen permalink
    August 12, 2008 5:20 pm

    This is a monthly budget? You have groceries twice…possibly an extra $155 for your travel fund 😉 (or elsewhere, I just love travel!).

  4. August 16, 2008 9:12 am

    Talking to my old/current roommates, we agree – moving into a 1-bed with a significant other is very likely the CHEAPEST way to pay for rent! Great dream budget – hope it works out! 🙂

  5. August 16, 2008 4:01 pm

    Yeh $550 for rent would be sweet!

Trackbacks

  1. New apartment, new budget! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

