Skip to content

End of August update

August 31, 2008

Whew! We made it!!

That is what I have to say about August. My net worth increased by about $1000, but only in my retirement category. Most of my short term savings isn’t tracked in my net worth, but my car fund is, so that hurt my cash for the month.

My budget spreadsheet is ugly this month, so I’m keeping it to myself. The goal for next month to bring all my short term savings account into the black. A few are red (clothes and travel).

Here are my August goals. I didn’t do too bad on them. I need to be more focused in September. Fewer goals with more meaning!

1. Continue running, get new shoes, run in the a.m. before work at least three times (hey, I’m not a morning person, it is a start). Yes, but only once in the a.m. Did not go well!
2. Stay in vacation budget while having a blast. Yes
3. Start side job. No, not really. Not my fault though.
4. Schedule doctors appointment, and dentist too. Yes, for Thursday
5. Figure out cable/internet situation. Yes, new bill is $36.
6. Fill out transfer credit request form for school No
7. Oh, and get a student ID card Yes. Well no. I got the photo taken.
8. Have a happy interim review Yes, it went well
9. Get my free miles No, but I will this month
10. Work extra hours before and after vacation to flex time. Yes
11. Sign up for career development class. Yes, it was pretty interesting

I’m excited for a fresh month!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2008 9:09 pm

    I checked out your Networth IQ for the first time today and was really impressed by your retirement savings; good job! Now if it weren’t for those student loans…

    They’re one of those necessary evils, right? 🙂

    You doing any saving for a home?

  2. September 2, 2008 9:01 am

    Yeah, the student loans don’t really bother me much anymore. I just pay them, and recognize without them, I wouldn’t have nearly the income I do.

    No home savings right now. Maybe once my efund is funded (early next year?). Honestly, I just don’t know when/where I want to buy a place. We may settle here (L.A.), we may not, we may move abroad for awhile… It is hard to save for a house without a plan.

    So retirement is my focus. In theory, I could use my Roth/401k for a home purchase, but it isn’t really allocated to be used short term.

  3. September 2, 2008 9:08 pm

    The e-fund comes first! I couldn’t agree more.

    We’re in a similar spot in terms of not knowing when and where we’ll settle down. All you can do is wait and see.

Leave a Reply

