Skip to content

Running, groceries, sidebar updates

September 4, 2008

This “Basic Running Program” from Zen Habits cracked me up.  I haven’t run at all this week, so tonight, I better get back on track.  Must put those new shoes to use!  I realized that when I went on vacation, I forgot to continue my 100 push-ups challenge.  I’m thinking something like 50 is respectable enough, but I do want to make some improvement.

I love this post, mostly for the comments where people brag how low their food budgets are.  Being frugal is great.  Bragging about your frugal skills and entering the “who can spend the least” contest is annoying (yet I couldn’t stop reading).  It seems quite possible to spend under $100/person each month on food, if you are committed to it.  In general, I’m just not committed to it.  I spend about $155 for mostly me, but it is probably slightly inflated due to T spending a lot of weekends at my place.  He bought me milk and cereal this week, but I don’t keep close track on who eats/buys what.  Too complicated.  If I were careless, I could easily spend $200 or $250 on groceries alone.  If I had more money than I knew what to do with, I could easily spend $500 each month going to restaurants.

Other than that, I added a tab for my September Spending Hiatus, mostly for my own record keeping.  I’ll delete it when the month is over, I think.  October will be a standard budget month, but maybe I’ll do a similar challenge in November.  I’d have to allow Christmas gifts for others–but not for myself (does that happen to you?!).

I also updated my sidebars with this week’s paycheck.  My emergency fund is slowly creeping up, and I should hit $13,000 next month with my extra paycheck.  My retirement contributions are steadily increasing, on track for my goal.  Despite the crazy backpacking purchases, fall is going to be a good season for my finances.  I just know it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 10:56 am

    Oh man, the comments on Trent’s blog always crack me up. If he’s reusing Ziploc bags, he’s too cheap. If he buys a Wii/book/piece of candy, he’s totally not the frugal guy they thought he was.

    I thought his food bill seemed high, but I spend probably 3 times as much on clothes in a year, so I can’t be throwing stones…

  2. September 5, 2008 11:20 am

    I thought it was high too–but I like to separate any wine/alcohol purchases out of mine. Not like that is a lot, but…

Leave a Reply

