Skip to content

Clothing purchases

September 9, 2008

Earlier this month, I found a dress for the wedding I’m going to next month for $60, after tax.  I love it, but the print/cut is a little trendy and I’m concerned I won’t be able to wear it next year.  How hard would it be to sell it on E-bay (I have absolutely zero ebay selling experience)?  It’s a known brand, but it would be worn.  Maybe it could fetch $20?  Or I could put the tags back on and sell it NWT, but that seems… wrong.  I’d be surprised if I’m the first one to think of that idea though.  Or should I just suck it up and keep it, and pray that it is not too outdated next year?

Oh, it is still for sale online, so you can check out what I mean.  The wedding is on the beach, so I think it’ll do nicely.  The cut is baggier than is typically flattering, but I tried it on, and it worked.  (BTW, what is up with BR’s sizing?  I had to get an XS.  I’m small, but I don’t think I’m extra small.  I also tried on some size 2 pants that were a slightly big.  I am not a size zero, not since like 9th grade!  Sheesh.  Let’s hope it was just that particular pair.  What do those girls who really are extra small buy??  Negative 2?)

I was really happy to quickly find something suitable without having to drive all over the place searching sales.  I was even contemplating the outlet malls if I had to.  I found it online during their labor day sale, went in, tried it on, and was out the door in 15 minutes.  That is efficient shopping skills!

I’d like new shoes to go with it, but I have shoes that will suffice, so I’ll wear them.  Or maybe look at Payless (or Ross?) for some cheap-o shoes more in the style I want to wear.  I wear dress shoes so irregularly that a high quality shoe would be unnecessary (unlike work shoes).  A little bracelet would be nice too.  I’ll see what I have, but I don’t have much for jewelry.

I’m finally set on shoes for quite some time.  In the last 2-3 months, I got brown work shoes, black work shoes, running shoes, hiking boots and some dressier sandals.  I’d like a pair of casual/trendy tennis shoes (my current ones are falling apart), but I’ll put them on my birthday list.  I have some in my closet I can revive anyway.

Unfortunately, I’m in the hole on my clothing budget by $82 and also have a nice “$30 off $100” coupon from Banana Republic that I’m hoping to use in early October for some new work pants that fit a little better.  Building my wardrobe seems to be a never ending battle, but I’m trying really hard not to increase my clothing budget.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 10:31 am

    It’s not just that one pair of pants at Banana Republic. I’m normalish, probably a size 4 in real-people clothing, but I have to wear a 0 or a 00 at Banana Republic. It’s a pain, especially since 00s are hard to find (probably because all the other normal-sized people out there seize them first).

    The good news is, Banana Republic’s clothes are generally very well made. Once you do find an article of clothing that fits, you can generally wear it for a long, long time before it needs to go into the junk pile. I have shirts that I’ve worn regularly for about five years that are still going strong, and I have a black pair of work pants are just starting to get worn-looking after four years (two of almost weekly use).

  2. September 9, 2008 10:38 am

    I’ve only really ever bought tops there, and the sizing craziness isn’t as noticeable.

    I don’t even know what size I am anymore. It depends on the store, I guess. How confusing!

  3. sfordinarygirl permalink
    September 9, 2008 11:02 am

    Given the dress is still selling on BR’s website, you could list it on ebay and get $20. It would be hard to start the listing at $9.99 or you could do a “buy it now” instant purchase for a set price like $20.

    But clothes on ebay are a tough sell and if you wait too long, the auction won’t generate any bids. The market’s pretty crowded for BR clothes on ebay. I’d check if the same dress is selling on ebay before listing. At $60 it wouldn’t be too much of a sunk cost. Have you thought about going to clothes swaps and exchanging the dress with someone else?

    BR pant sizes are weird and fluctate depending on the cut/type. I wear a size 4 but the martin pants dont fit and opted for a size 2 which was a bit too big but used a belt for the minor differences. Stay away from the tops. The quality is terrible. I’ve had purchased two tops, both have small holes and the seams are coming apart.

  4. September 9, 2008 11:14 am

    I like the dress, and I think you should keep it! The dress is not too dressy that you couldn’t even wear it to work (belted, with a chunky cardigan and tights), and prints seem to still be big on the runway for Fall & Spring. If you’d prefer to sell, I think a consignment shop would be better than ebay, but you’d only get like 50% of what they sell the dress for.

  5. September 9, 2008 11:33 am

    @sfordinary gal – thanks for the ebay tips. I didn’t see it on ebay, and I’d probably wait to sell until the dress went off the site. But it sounds like it might be more of hassle than it is worth, since it won’t net much.

    The tops are hit or miss. I’ve had a couple I’ve been pleased with, and a couple I’ve been disappointed with. Now I’m very cautious

    @paranoid asteroid – It is kinda short for work esp. cause I’m on the taller side. (I guess that is where the tights come in?) I could make it work, though it would be a departure from my usual (boring) work wardrobe. That isn’t a bad thing. The whole “see my bright pink dress!” draws more attention than I usually do. (Example, today: black pants and gray short sleeve knit top. Yawn.) I’ll contemplate. I do see women wearing much more daring things than a print dress…

    Surely I could put it to use on weekends, esp if I can accessories it correctly.

Leave a Reply

