Skip to content

September gifts: Three birthdays and a wedding

September 12, 2008

I asked my dad for a tips on how much I should spend on my cousin’s wedding, since he is more familiar with the family “norms”.  I kind of expected/hoped that all the internet crazies stating “$200 a person, minimum, else it is just rude” didn’t apply to my family.  We don’t come from that kind of money (or high class attitude).  [Please don’t say “Pay for your plate”.  I disagree with that, and so do most etiquette experts.]

He said my original thought of $75 seemed fine.  Except she is registered for some crazy expensive stuff.  For a total of $89 with shipping and tax, I only could get a few towels, which feels incredibly lame.  Congratulations on the biggest day of your life, here’s a towel, I hope you love it!!! I can only hope that my cousin is appreciative and doesn’t keep score.  I’d love to spend more and get her something sizable, but it just isn’t in my budget.

To help offset the cost, I filled out a health assessment for work and got a $50 gift card, which I directed to be for Macy’s, where she is registered.  I also said I did not have any health problems, ever.  I do not trust those health surveys.

I sent $40 to my aunt to chip in for her birthday gift (new living room recliner), as well as a card directly to my grandmother.  My adorable nephew turns 2 this month, and I sent him some new blocks.  Two year olds are pretty oblivious to birthday’s and presents, but… I can’t wait to see him at the wedding, he is so my favorite little boy in the world!

My dad’s birthday is at the end of this month.  If my parents end up in the area again this fall (they are trying), I think I’ll register us to run a 5k together sometime in October as his gift.  He ran a marathon a couple years ago, and he’d enjoy doing something like that together. I found one that lets you bring your dog (he’d love that). This really depends on where they’ll be, and it is looking like they probably will stay in the midwest for a bit longer, so I’ll have to think of something else.

Once my travel fund is in the black, I’m going to work on my gift fund.  I have about $200 in there, but I probably need about $400 for Christmas.  I don’t think that $40-$50 for a gift is that much, but it adds up quickly!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2008 8:58 am

    Just a suggestion, why not just give your cousin the cash of $75 for the wedding gift?

  2. September 12, 2008 12:48 pm

    I agree with the person who said to give cash, but also check to see if someone else (or multiple someones else) in your family wants to split a larger gift.

  3. September 16, 2008 4:12 am

    I think your cousin would only want you to buy what you can comfortably afford. I’d do what paranoidasteroid suggests and chip in with a couple of other people to get a larger gift if you feel silly giving a smaller one.

Leave a Reply

