Skip to content

Money and my Relationship

September 18, 2008

I haven’t bothered to ask T how much money he has in savings for quite some time.  I know he’s good with money, I know he has no debt, I know he has some savings.  I just wasn’t worried about it.

Last weekend, I was lamenting my lack of progress in savings this month, he asked what my savings was.  “Um, read my blog!”  I told him again my estimated cash savings and estimated net worth.  I asked what his was, not really expecting or caring about an answer.  Except, he told me.  “Wow,” I said, “can I blog about that?”

Ha.  I got the feeling that he didn’t want me to, so I’ll leave it vague and say that it was a good number, but it wasn’t a shocking number.  Quite impressive for someone who has pretty much never worked full time (aside from internships, co-ops, and summer research jobs).

But, as I suspected, it doesn’t matter, really. The number had no effect on… anything.

I’ve said before, the more important thing is attitude about money, and it is obvious are on the same page there.  We’re both savers, but we’re both willing to pick and choose what to spend for.  We are both able to go without things we would like, in lieu of things we would like even more.  As our income increases, we have similar ideas of what we want to do with our money, mainly because we have similar ideas of what we want to do with our lives in general.  I feel incredibly lucky that we ended up being a good financial match, because when we started dating, it wasn’t even something I considered.  At all.

Numbers are probably quite important when you are bringing signifcant mistakes to the table–consumer debt, massive student loans, empty bank accounts, etc.   But when you both have good things going, I don’t see why it is pertinent exactly how much good each of you has.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 8:33 am

    That is so great that you are both on the same page!

  2. Cassie permalink
    September 18, 2008 4:08 pm

    Does he have more than you?

  3. September 19, 2008 2:17 am

    You’re sensible to talk about these things openly, especially if this is a serious relationship. Different attitudes towards money can cause serious rifts between people, so it’s great that you guys are so compatible! 🙂

Leave a Reply

