Skip to content

2008 (and beyond) Goal Status

September 19, 2008

I decided to take a look at my 2008 and longer term goals, and evaluate my progress.

  • Contribute 10k in 401k this year and 5k in a Roth: This is going well and should be no problem.  Balances are dropping, but my contributions I can control.
  • Take one graduate course in the fall I’m all registered, start next week!
  • Get efund up to 15k by the end of the year 13k by the end of the year (too ambitious), 15k eventually. This is going well, but has tapered off due to REI.  I’m going to shoot for 14k, which will be more of a stretch.  I’ll hit 13k no problem.
  • Take a sailing class in the spring Done!
  • DO NOT PAY EXTRA ON STUDENT LOANS. I’ve paid extra 2-3 times.  Much less than I have in the past!
  • Run (or similar) three times a week or more A little spotty, but generally, going well.  I seriously need to increase my food intake in order to stick with this.

Midterm goals

  • Get M.S. by the end of 2010 This shouldn’t be a problem if I just chug away at it, one class at a time.  And they accept my 2 transfer credits from my other graduate university.
  • Hike Half Dome in Yosemite I’m getting my hiking skills up, but the thought of those chains freak me out!
  • Run in the L.A. marathon (2009) sometime, but probably not 2009  Maybe someday, but not soon.
  • Have 100k in retirement by age 30. If the market cooperates (eeek!).  I’m inching my way towards $30k, but it’s slow going and quite rough lately!
  • Live and work abroad for awhile before “settling down” somewhere I haven’t exactly made any progress, but the outlook is still good!

Long Term Goals (These aren’t well defined yet, but I’ll figure it out as I go)

  • Be content Oh, if only I could be!
  • Travel as much as possible Yes and no.  Funds are limited, but ambitions are high!
  • Save “enough” for retirement Who the heck knows??
10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2008 9:45 am

    That sounds pretty good. I’ve been avoiding rewriting goals for a while now, other than the month to month goals, since everything’s so up in the air.

    Aside to Half Dome: Have you ever hiked Mt. Whitney? I really want to do that sometime in the next 6 months.

  2. September 19, 2008 9:51 am

    I think evaluating annual goals is an effective way to keep track your progress. I do that too. Especially writing a post about it really makes you accountable for the things you promised to yourself.

  3. September 19, 2008 9:53 am

    No, but I want to! That seems easier. Well, no, actually definitely not easier, just slightly less scary due to the lack of those pesky cables at half dome.

    It is on the list, though–I’m thinking of applying for a permit in Feb/March (whenever they give them out) with a goal of doing it sometime next summer/fall. I don’t know if I could hack it in the winter.

  4. September 19, 2008 11:44 am

    You say: “Hike Half Dome in Yosemite I’m getting my hiking skills up, but the thought of those chains freak me out!”

    A Noble goal. The Half Dome hike is a superb adventure. I’ve done it 23 times. The views and sense of accomplishment are worth it. Folks need to prepare though…it’s not a walk-in-the-park. Water, boots, hiking poles and gloves for the cables – and be in top shape!

    I’ve written the ony hiking guide to Half Dome and suggest it for you. It is called “One Best Hike: Yosemite’s Half Dome” published by Wilderness Press. See my website. The trick is to train, leave early (5:30 am) and be at the cables before 11 am. They are clogged after that.

    Carpe Diem – Seize the Day!!
    Rick, San Jose, CA
    http://www.HikeHalfDome.com

  5. September 20, 2008 9:54 am

    It looks like you are well on your way to accomplishing your 2008 goals!

  6. September 20, 2008 3:15 pm

    Like SavingDiva said, it looks like you’re well on your way! I need to sit down and establish my yearly goals for 2009. I didn’t do that in ’08 so I’d like to start in ’09.

  7. September 23, 2008 1:39 pm

    On second thought, make that half dome in the next year or so. Ow.

  8. September 23, 2008 1:39 pm

    (also, mt. whitney.)

  9. September 26, 2008 4:03 am

    Those are great goals. I, too, want to run a marathon at some point. We’ve made a lot of changes in our lives in regards to nutrition and fitness. Our insurance gives us a break for going to the gym. That’s not our only incentive but it helps. And, we hope all of the focus on health leads to more changes.

    Jerry
    http://www.leads4insurance.com

  10. October 17, 2008 12:12 pm

    I quit running because my food intake/sleep ratio got completely thrown off. A month later I’m still scrawny :/

Leave a Reply

