Skip to content

September Goal Review

September 29, 2008
It is barely worth revisiting these, but why have a blog if you don’t post results of your intentions? Here it is…

Finance:
1. Um, survive until October? Yes! I’m alive.
2. No new clothes, except jewelry to go with dress for cousins wedding if I can’t find anything. No, got some dress pants and jeans (good deals though–$84 for both from BR)
3. Buy hiking boots, but refrain from other camping purchases. I bought the boots, but we got a lot more too. I swear I’m done now.
4. Stick to budget keeping $600 allocated to travel fund and $200 to efund. Hmm, try $700+ to “travel” and a sad sad $100 to efund. Over budget all over.

School
1. Submit paper work for transfer credits. I ordered the transcript and have the forum. But I didn’t actually do it yet. Next month, I guess.
2. Get student ID. For real this month. I mailed in the forum, but it hasn’t came. I’ll need to follow up on this, because… I just am not convinced it is coming.
3. Submit reimbursement for fees. Did this for $150 textbook, but I need to conjure up a receipt for my $60 application fee…

Work:
1. Learn new technology/tool in next phase of our task (this is cheating, because if I don’t do this, I’m not doing my job). I’m trying!
2. Networking: Contact two people from August’s class. Yes, but it was pretty uneventful.
3. Career Development: Take class instructors suggestion to set one concrete goal for each objective. Hmm, nope!
4. Figure out how to approach the issue of a promotion. No, not really. I’ve been too nervous about other things, namely, my current tasks.
5. Check in with Kevin about side job again. Checked in, but nothing is happening. Boo.

Life:
1. Organize one camping trip–either car camping or backpacking, depending on who is going. Yes, we did two overnights.
2. Send birthday presents: Grandma, dad, nephew (gift fund). Yes, except my dad. His birthday is Thursday, and he’ll be here Wendesday
3. Continue running and actually use/update my little chart yes on the running, no on the chart. Hmm…
4. Handwrite these goals and refer to them weekly Yes, though it didn’t do much good

For a personal finance blogger, I sure did bad on my pf goals! The only one I accomplished only required staying alive? Ha, what talent I have.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 11:40 am

    LOL! “Survive until Oct”

    Very nice. Best goal… ever.

  2. September 29, 2008 11:50 am

    1. Um, survive until October? Yes! I’m alive.
    This made me giggle.

    I’m convinced that the month(s) leading up to a three-paycheck month have to be totally horrible so we don’t blow the third paycheck on clothes. It’s the universe trying to balance everything out.

  3. September 29, 2008 11:56 am

    At least I knew when I made the goals it was going to be a rough month!

  4. September 29, 2008 7:44 pm

    My review for September won’t look so hot either, so don’t feel bad! 😛

  5. September 30, 2008 12:26 pm

    I can do you one better: I didn’t even bother to set goals! 😉 I just made a plan so I wouldn’t feel bad …. and wouldn’t you know, that worked better than a SMART goal? *eyeroll*

    Two thumbs up for survival!

Leave a Reply

