Skip to content

What to do when the stock market drops

September 30, 2008
  1. Look at the stock chart after lunch (1:00 pacific time) and say to yourself, “holy crap!”
  2. Get back to work, and work late
  3. Stop at Trader Joe’s and buy (among other things) a peppermint cheesecake for $1.99. That is pretty much the best calorie per dollar purchase ever. If a depression hits, I could live of that cheese cake for at least 2 days. Maybe I should have bought several.
  4. Talk on the phone for an hour with your sister.
  5. Cook dinner, then make some homemade soft pretzels. YUM.
  6. Try to stop yourself from checking your retirement balance, but do it anyway, and close the window quickly.
  7. Watch Gossip Girl, call your boyfriend, go to bed.

Well, that is what I did anyway. I don’t mean to imply that what is going on isn’t serious. It is. But no one (in the government) has called me and asked what I think we should do, so the fact that I don’t know for sure isn’t a real problem. This does affect me, but not in any way I can control. My fate, our fate, is in someone else’s hands right now.

If I do decide it is time to panic, what moves can I make? I’m not really concerned about my retirement account, I’m only concerned about my job (and the general job market). It seems like my best bet is just to go to work and wait and see. I could pull my money out of the bank, out of the market and put it in my mattress, or I can live my life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 10:11 am

    I’m with you on this!

    I actually tried to look at my 401k balance yesterday, out of sheer curiosity, but discovered that apparently I can only see statements–and my last statement date was last Friday. No wonder it didn’t look so bad!

    There’s no point in panicking, at least on my end. I’m not pulling the money out for at least 30 years, so there’s time to recover. In fact, I’m glad that I put money in today (payday) as it can pretty much only go up from here!

  2. September 30, 2008 12:13 pm

    Were those the pretzels posted on Sugarlaws by any chance? hehe (I made them this weekend!! yummy!)

    While I’m not panicking I’m starting to think REALLY hard about what this will mean for my plans to move out. I’m somewhat stubborn, so I want to pretend everything thats going on doesn’t really apply to me, but I’m not sure who I’m fooling by thinking that. Just like you said….its no longer in our hands so all we can do is sit and wait it out.

  3. September 30, 2008 10:15 pm

    This is so cute! I LOVE Trader Joe’s and I had that cheesecake a few weeks ago… bought it for my roommates and they were none the wiser that it merely cost me $1.99! 🙂

    I am living my life, too. It’s the safest bet right now!

Leave a Reply

