Skip to content

September Net Worth, October Goals

October 1, 2008

September was a bad month for many reasons, which I’m fairly sure I whined about plenty already. It isn’t much surprise that my net worth dropped an impressive (depressive?) $1,559.

My cash savings increased by ~$100, which is what I expect given that I tracked my spending and that’s what I allocated to the Efund. My retirement plummeted about $1700, leave my networth below $24k again. As always, details available at NetworthIQ. I was hoping to hit $30k by the end of the year, but that is looking less and less likely. On the bright side, it is helpful to remember that I started out 2008 with only about $11k, so I’m still growing.

I didn’t think I was going to make any official goals for October. I’ve been feeling stressed out these past couple weeks, and I just didn’t want to. I have a budget, which encompasses all my spending goals. Still, I’m too goal orientated to not set any, but they aren’t as extensive as usual:

  1. Get all “Short Term Savings” funds above zero and at acceptable levels to meet the rest of the years needs.
  2. Save $1000 in E-fund for the month, to make up for previous months slacking. (This is only possible due to an extra paycheck. Don’t be impressed.)

That’s it! I do also need to keep up with school, fill out some paperwork, keep running, celebrate T‘s birthday, etc, etc…. But that’s just life, and I don’t feel like making a goal out of it this month.

I think a few other bloggers have agreed–October is going to be a good month, and we’re all glad to leave August/September in the dust.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 9:02 am

    October will be a MUCH better month for me. My net worth is still increasing anyway, but *shrug* it’s nice to leave the drop of the $$$ behind… for now

  2. October 1, 2008 9:08 am

    I can’t promise my net worth will increase in this market. As time has gone on more and more of my $ is in retirement, so it is largely out of my control.

    But my savings should increase next month, much more than $124. 🙂

  3. October 1, 2008 9:40 am

    I agree, September was just brutal. My net worth dropped almost 9%. Here’s to taking it in the other direction again in October.

  4. October 2, 2008 10:05 pm

    Ouch! I feel your pain! My net worth decreased by over 2%, and my retirement dropped about 14%!

    It’s time for October to give us all some hope!

  5. September 9, 2009 9:45 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

