Skip to content

Financial Priorities

October 2, 2008

I finally came up with a date for my $15k efund goal:  By March 1st 2009, I’ll have $15k in my efund. Now it is a SMART goal.

This is working on several assumptions, some of which have high probabilities of being false:

  • We don’t lose our contract or we lose it, and I keep my job anyway.  Or find a new job within seconds.
  • There is not any sort of annual bonus (February I think).
  • My take home pay doesn’t change in January (not sure about this).
  • I don’t decide to put some of this money towards a wedding.  (This thought won’t be discussed at this time, as I’m not even engaged.)

Whatever.  I picked a date that might be achievable.

Then what?  I don’t think I’ll increase my goal beyond $15k, especially since I’m anticipating a drop in expenses (ie, rent) sometime next year.  I have a long list of financial priorities from which I develop my budget.  Actually, that might be worth sharing!

Isn’t it pretty?  I put it on the “Master” sheet of my budget spreadsheet.  It will take a quite some time to complete this list, and I’m sure it’ll evolve over time.  When we eventually start making financial goals as a couple, listing out the priorities in a clear fashion will be really useful.  If you agree ahead of time what you are trying to accomplish, the actual numbers are much easier to fill in.  Even if you are only agreeing with yourself!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 9:28 am

    Having a priority list is such a great idea. I may steal it. =)

  2. Bonnie permalink
    October 2, 2008 1:37 pm

    It is a great idea. Also, SP–I just have to say that my boyfriend and I just returned from a week-long LA vacation and I freakin’ loved it out there! You are so lucky to live there. The weather, the food, the people…although it seems like it would be really hard to be frugal living out there. We’re ready to move! 🙂 My boyfriend grew up in Norwalk and then spent two years in Long Beach and another two in San Diego. We are currently in the Midwest.

  3. October 2, 2008 10:07 pm

    15k?! Wow… that would be great! I’m not even close anymore; I used a lot of my e-fund to pay off my car.

    Also. your list of priorities is great! I may have to “steal” the idea as well. 🙂

  4. October 3, 2008 10:37 am

    Yeah, i’m totally digging that list as well – good thinkin’. Esp if you’re adding it to your budget spreadsheet!! hotness. gotta love them budgets, eh?

    0h, and congrats on the 15k too. someone actually DID what they said they were going to do. i love it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

