Skip to content

Back to work

October 6, 2008

What a weekend!! It was good, but pretty high stress and exhausting. My cousin got married and most of my family was out here to visit. So many people, more drama than necessary, but it was great to see everyone and relax on the beach. If I wanted a real wedding, I’d want one just like hers–right on the ocean, smallish, but very nice.

Now, back to work, and even worse, time to get on the ball for my class for my Masters, first homework due in a few days. The class should really be quite basic, but it’ll still take time.

I’m so not in the mood for work. I contemplated taking a sick day (mental health!), but I have a lot to do. They give us too many sick days, more than I’ll ever use, and I wish I could trade them in for vacation days, even at half the hours.

Total cost of the weekend: I paid $71 for a car rental for four days (great deal) and let my parents and sisters use my car. I paid about $50 in gas, and $22 in meals. My parents covered the hotel for 3 nights and all the other meals. I’m only deducting the $71 from my travel budget, since I probably would have spent that other money either way. I’m not sure the balance of my travel budget yet, but it’ll be above zero by the end of the month. I don’t anticipate much travel spending for quite some time now (whew).

I also spent $60 at Target on jewelry, tights, a purse and some socks.  I intended on buying the jewelery to match my dress, I needed the socks, and wanted the tights.   It just adds up so quickly!  I knew there was a reason I don’t go to that store anymore!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 10:04 am

    Ugh. Work.

    Target is a total black hole for me. When I visit the States and go to Target, I ALWAYS spend money.

  2. October 6, 2008 11:41 am

    What’s worse about the sick days is that after a year they take what you have, chop it in half, and stick it into a different account.

    I use a lot of my sick time, but this might just be because I get sick really easily. Never got sick on the East Coast, but now I’m almost always suffering from something!

  3. October 6, 2008 9:19 pm

    Gah, but Target is the only place that I can find good tights now! So now I can either go without tights, or shade my eyes and walk in and out of the store really fast. 😛

  4. October 7, 2008 2:30 pm

    I haven’t been to Target in MONTHS for that exact reason! I’ll be like, “I need some laundry detergent – lets go to target” and leave with an $80 basket of random items! Terrible.

  5. October 8, 2008 8:24 am

    Wow, $71 dollar car rental, that is an absolute bargain!

  6. October 8, 2008 3:22 pm

    @PA – Must be the smog… I don’t know, I just rarely get sick. Maybe I get the flu every other year. Now mental health days, that I need…

    @revanche – the tights were quite fantastic, and the jewelry was really cute for the price too. Still…..

    @frugal – Yes! For four days! Sure, the car didn’t have cruise or power locks or power windows… Anyway, enterprise runs half-off long weekend specials Fri, sat, sun, and for some reason, they also gave me thursday half off!

  7. October 17, 2008 12:03 pm

    $71!? WOW you need to post on how you landed that deal!

    Target is such a time/money sink for me. I just can’t resist those bright orange clearance tags – 75 (%) may be my favorite number 😦

Leave a Reply

