Skip to content

Trips I don’t have time for

October 10, 2008

I want to go to Catalina Island this month for a couple nights on weekend. The boat ride is $66 each, camping is $12/night per a person (so expensive!) and they charge you a $12 extra fee for the primitive sites (water + firewood). The trip would probably be almost $125 each once we bought food. Still, we really could use a romantic getaway.

A much cheaper option would be just to find a free site that we can drive to, and save the island trip for later (like when I have more than $10 left in the travel fund). We have the parking pass for the forests around here, and I found a nice overnight canyon hike we could do for free. Not as awesome as camping on the sand, but still pretty cool.

I don’t know when we’ll be doing either one though. I signed up for a second class, so I have some catching up to do this weekend. T also has a lot of work (as usual). Next weekend we have tentative plans for a “sport” tournament. Sport is in quotes because it is not a real sport, nor am I really athletic, but it might be hilarious. The following weekend, no plans, but it is one week before my midterm, so I’ll probably be studying. Then Halloween + midterm, and we’re already in November! Wow.

I’ll meet my travel budget almost exclusively because I won’t have time to execute my plans. Booo.

P.S. My new hobby is checking the Asian markets before bed to see if the world has completely collapsed yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2008 2:59 pm

    I laughed out loud when you mentioned checking the Asian markets at night to see if the world has collapsed! I find myself doing the same thing…

    Did you hear Iceland is going bankrupt? That’s right- Iceland! The country!

  2. October 13, 2008 3:57 am

    LOL on the Asian Markets, too. No collapse yet and the dollar’s getting stronger. I did not hear that about Iceland. That is scary.

    I hear you on the camping. What is that about now? They’re putting a premium on the outdoors and it’s just not right. I just spent some time in Bulgaria where camping is really camping. You get a tent and head out in the woods and do your thing. There aren’t any camp grounds that I saw so your insurance for a decent shower is gone but you do get a real outdoors experience.

    Good luck on your midterms. I hope all the studying leads to success!

    Jerry
    http://www.leads4insurance.com

Leave a Reply

