Skip to content

Stressed out = no blogging

October 20, 2008

I have no good excuse for not posting much.  I do have a lot of school work, but considering I wasted more hours than I’m willing to admit this weekend (watching season 3 of the Wire), it would be deceiving to use that as an excuse.  My brain is out of shape and simple calculus is causing me to pound my hands to my head and when I combine it with everything else, maybe even cry.  I’ve been stressed out about everything, and I need to relax!

The weekend was fantastically cheap.  I bought pizza ($13), T bought Newcastle ($13), and we each got a free latte from Starbucks Saturday (via MyMoneyBlog, good until 10/31).  I also bought a cookie ($2) and wanted to buy some new brown casual shoes from Target, but didn’t (yet).  I want a darker brown anyway.  I just may come in within my budget this month, but I still have 11 days to go.

We had a presentation this morning at work, and it went better than expected (I was terrified!).  However, right before the meeting, we got some news that is pretty terrible for my program, and really, a good chunk of my division in general.  I may be in the job hunt in the next few months.  I may not be.  It is too soon to say.  Cross your fingers for me?

I don’t think I’ll be posting much in the next couple weeks either.  You know, all that school work… Or something.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 10:34 pm

    I’m taking Calculus myself and am constantly exhausting all my time studying to just to keep up!

    … lots of calc. and economics equals little time for blogging! 😦

  2. October 21, 2008 10:25 am

    I saw that email & thought of you… I’m hoping everything works out OK!

  3. October 21, 2008 10:40 am

    Boo, sorry to hear that there’s bad news on the horizon. I’ve been keeping mum about ours for a long time, so you’ve got my crossed fingers!

  4. Tifanny permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:31 am

    Ahh we all know how school is. I seen the word calculus and cringed haha. Thankfully I got out easy and don’t have to take it (dentistry).

    Anyway I just wanted to comment and say I’ve been visiting your site for quite some now and I love it. I am in the same boat, learning how to budget and saving so it helps so much to see someone elses progress:)

  5. October 22, 2008 1:27 pm

    I’m glad work and finances are going well – good luck with your stress!

  6. October 22, 2008 7:39 pm

    @Trevor – Calculus is supposed to be almost second nature for my classes. Unfortunately (or rather, fortunately) you don’t do much calc in the real world, so I am rusty on all the little tricks. Good luck with your class!

    @pa – Thanks. Things look like the might be ok. If you are optimistic, that is what you’d think. I’m not so optimistic in general, but I’m not too worried at this point.

    @R – Thanks! In this economy, it seems like tons of companies are having a rough time

    @Anny – Thanks!

  7. October 22, 2008 7:41 pm

    @tiffany – reading personal finance blogs is sort of an addiction! I love reading about others all across the country (world, even!) and how we all have such similar issues.

Leave a Reply

