Skip to content

October in California

October 22, 2008

I like the way this month is going.  While the economy may be horrible, my own personal economy is going well (for now).  I’m in budget (everywhere except clothing), I had a third paycheck to boost overruns from travel spending in Aug/Sept, and I’ve put $1000 in my efund.  If only all months gave me three paychecks!

I had a birthday and got fleece pants, a fleece hoodie (mainly for camping), a sleeping bag liner (my bag isn’t quite warm enough for cool temps), a university branded coffee mug, and some cool hard cash.   My grandparents sent me $10, to which I thought “what’s the point?  A card would have been fine!”  I like to write in my thank you note “Thanks for the $, I used it to buy …”  But it’s like, “Thanks for the $10, it disappeared into my pocket and probably bought a latte and a few loads of laundry.” They typically send $25, maybe they are nervous about the economy as well.

Aside from finances, this month hasn’t been all that great.  Work is stressful.  I’ve lost my appetite and motivation for cooking.  School is time consuming.  It was dark when I left work today, not because it was that late, but because “winter” is coming.  This is my first California winter, and while I’m sure it’ll be better than last winter (ice storms, lots of snow, power outages, COLD), I still wish it would stay light out until at least 7.

I think I’m going to use some of my travel funds next month for a short camping trip in November.  It’ll have to either be the week after midterms, or maybe around Thanksgiving.  I hate that I can’t arbitrarily pick a weekend and go.  I hate that I’ll have homework the majority of the weekends for the next 1.5 years.

But my budget seems to really be liking it.   :/

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2008 5:35 am

    Happy belated birthday!

  2. October 23, 2008 7:29 am

    Yeah, all that homework sure isn’t fun – but at least you’re working torwards a better life!!! If i hear another person complain around here about wanting a better job, but not doing anything about it, i swear i’ll lose it 😉

    School is freakin’ hot, so good work sticking to it!

  3. Sissy permalink
    October 23, 2008 8:03 am

    You may have not meant to seem ungrateful, but that is the way your post regarding your gift from your grandparents came across. I realize that $10.00 is not a great deal of money, but it really has more value than you can ever realize. My teenage and early 20 age children just lost their grandmother and they would give anything to be able to receive a card from her…with our without anything else included. Treasure the real gift…that they were thinking of you and were able to share something of value with you. Life can take these gifts away without warning. It’s not about the money – I can promise you that!!!

  4. October 23, 2008 8:23 am

    Thanks frugalchick!

    @budgets are sexy – Thanks! It will be worth it in the end

    @sissy – I said that just a card would have been completely fine. I was wondering why they even bothered to include the money at all. To me, $10 is almost nothing, but the card and having them think of me was very appreciated. The $10 was superfluous.

  5. October 23, 2008 9:15 am

    Reading that bit about your grandparents’ gift brought back some memories of my own grandparents and when they used to give us money when we were kids. Now that we’re older its easy to think they should’ve skipped the money part. hehe.

  6. October 23, 2008 9:33 am

    Happy belated birthday!! It’s really strange that it’s still so hot during the day and dark by 6. It makes me feel like working until 5 is like working until 7. And therefore working until 7 as I usually do is more like working until 9. Boo.

    Great that you have a liner in time for a camping trip in November!

  7. October 23, 2008 10:05 am

    I know how you feel about your grandparent’s gifts. I have a lot more disposable income than most of my relatives, and my grandparents are on a fixed income. My sister tried not cashing the checks they sent, but when my grandmother finally balanced her checkbook, she gave all of that money to my cousin, a leech. And now my sister gets gift cards. It’s hard for me to accept gifts, but ultimately I do & try to funnel the money back to them.

    It sometimes gets really cold here! There were a few days last winter when I just stayed in bed, wrapped in blankets, because it was 50 out and I don’t have a heater. I have since invested in a space heater!

  8. October 24, 2008 5:10 pm

    Happy belated birthday!

    My grandparents have upped the $$ they give for birthdays. As a kid it was $5-10. As I reached the 20s and “milestone” ones they upped it to $100. I feel bad because they get $300 each from social security. The rest are savings …

Leave a Reply

