Skip to content

October Goal Results, November Goals

October 30, 2008

As far as personal finances go (ignore the stock market), October was pretty fabulous. I didn’t set a lot of goals this month, but I did achieve the two I set. For the first time since I started this blog, I got 100% on my goals!

1. Get all “Short Term Savings” funds above zero and at acceptable levels to meet the rest of the years needs.

  • Gift Fund: Increased from $149 to $318, leaving me with $418 to buy Christmas presents with ($100 budgeted in November). I’ve estimated I need $415. Perfect!
  • Travel Fund: Increased from -$302 (don’t ask) to $0, while paying another $113 in travel expenses (for cousin’s wedding)
  • Clothes: Increased from –$108 to $0. In bad news, I also spent $150 in this category! ($88 on two pairs of pants, $25 purse, rest on tights, jewelery for wedding)
  • Car Fund: Increased from $110 to $320. Still a little low, but acceptable

2. Save $1000 in E-fund for the month, to make up for previous months slacking.

  • Increased by $1,225, plus interest!!!!!

If only I could get three paychecks every month…

For November, my goals are going to be similarly simple.

  1. Add $650 to Efund. This is more than a usual month, but in line with my recent budget adjustments (basically, halting all other savings).
  2. Get my student ID. I counted this as done when I sent in the form, but nothing arrived. Drat. Must figure out what happened.
  3. Buy at least 3 Christmas presents. I’m a horrible procrastinator when it comes to xmas shopping. Either that or I’m just really busy. I’ll pretend it is the latter.

Other hopes and dreams include rocking my midterms, figuring out all this CRAP at work (eeek), nagging reminding T to figure out whatever it is he needs to for housing, develop lifelong career plan (yeah right), celebrate thanksgiving, go on a hiking trip, keep up in my classes, rock my performance review, etc., etc.!!!

Official net worth report will be provided saturday, because I insist on counting the interest that accumulates and any last minut stock market fluxuations.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2008 7:59 am

    Increased by $1,225, plus interest!!!!!

    That is GREAT!!!

    P.S. I want to interview you, let me know!

  2. November 2, 2008 10:42 am

    You did great!

  3. El Cheapo permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:20 pm

    Congrats, you saved a lot of $$$$ this month!

Leave a Reply

