Skip to content

Up, down, all around: October Net Worth report, Weekend spending

November 2, 2008

October Net Worth Report

I was tracking my net worth throughout October, mostly out of curiosity.  My net worth previously hit about $25.5k this summer, but fell below $18k this month for a while.

Given that, I’m reasonably happy with the number being $22,169 this month, a fall of only $2000.  Cash savings increased big, retirement savings dropped bigger.  See my NetWorthIQ chart for the gory details.

Weekend spending

  • Gas:  $22 (didn’t fill up)
  • Latte on a rainy Saturday morning:  $3 (oh how I miss real rain storms!)
  • Prosecco to celebrate life:  $15
  • Sushi dinner:  $30
  • Groceries:  $16

For me, it was an extravagant weekend, my weeknesses revealed:  lattes, wine/alcohol, and sushi.  I guess I didn’t go shopping, though not for lack of desire.  Banana Republic is tempting me with 25% off (no minimum) if I use my Visa, but I’m thinking H&M instead.  Say what you want about quality over quantity, my work shirts from H&M has lasted really well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2008 11:27 am

    It’s depressing the way net worth numbers are falling! I checked my Roth balance this morning and it’s ruined my whole day. Yeah, it’s retirement money, blah blah, but I could have taken money out to buy a house. Except it’s way down, so there’s no point.

    I love H&M’s button-downs. It’s probably a good thing that the one nearby is a tad too far away to be a reasonable shopping option for me!

  2. November 3, 2008 11:32 am

    Yeah, it is a pain for me to H&M too, which is really the main reason I didn’t go this past weekend. 🙂

    I see my retirement balances in Yodlee on almost a daily basis, so at least it isn’t a huge shock to see them drop. Depressing when you think about it, but not unexpected.

    Real estate is probably down just as much.

  3. November 3, 2008 5:21 pm

    H&M’s the only place I could find button down shirts that fit me so I have a deep abiding love for that place. Unfortunately, the latest shirt from the Philly adventure this summer doesn’t seem as sturdy as the other three shirts.

    Have you noticed that the quality of the same type of product seems to drop after you buy your first one? I’m thinking of white tank tops, specifically, but am hoping that H&M won’t be subject to that same rule.

    No complaints here about the NW, we all knew this was coming 😛

  4. November 3, 2008 6:33 pm

    @R – really? Oh I hope not! I’ve never noticed that, but now that you mention it… hmm… I’ll be careful! If H&M disappoints, I’ll have no “affordable” stores that I like.

Leave a Reply

