Skip to content

Rather than talking about budgeting…

November 9, 2008

Again, I haven’t felt much like talking about money, budgeting or savings lately.  I stuck to my budget 100% in October, but that kind of success requires discipline that I can’t seem to manage for two months in a row.  That would be impressive.

I got two new work shirts on sale, one long sleeve, and one short sleeve, both work appropriate.  I was too impatient to wait until going to H&M was convenient, so I ordered online from Banana Republic, got 25% off for using my Visa card, and free shipping.   Now every time I see a woman wearing a decorative scarf, I want one.  I like solid colored shirts, so a scarf would be a nice accessory.  I probably won’t buy one.  Yet?
blueshirt purpleshirt
At the same time, I want these Pumas.  I got causal sneakers last year from Target.  They were really cute and pretty inexpensive, but they are much less cute with a hole in the toe.  These ones are on sale for $60.  I wear causal sneakers a lot, so part of me thinks it is worth it–they should last much longer than a year.  Part of me thinks it isn’t.  I’m going to think about it.  What is your vote?  Is the economy too bad to be contemplating Pumas?
pumas1
Speaking of jobs, I was notified my department isn’t hiring new grads anymore.  At the same time, from what I can tell, my job should be fine, and if not, they should be able to find something else.  Everything is speculative at this point, of course.  No guarantees or anything.  I guess I’m not worried at this moment in time, which is good.  Worrying doesn’t get me very far.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2008 1:15 pm

    1. Go for the pumas. You wear them a lot so it is justified!!
    2. I am in love with BR tops this season!! Super comfy
    3. If it makes you feel better I blew $400 on necklaces off etsy…. sooooooo

  2. November 9, 2008 4:49 pm

    Definitely buy the Pumas!! Those are so cute. I need to buy a new pair myself by the end of this year, probably next month.

  3. November 9, 2008 5:22 pm

    I love BR tops! They are simple, but not boring and best of all comfortable! I also say go for the Pumas. For one, they are on sale and two, if you’ll definitely get your money out of wearing them, then go purchase them.

  4. November 9, 2008 7:48 pm

    Ironic, I was just pointing out a fellow bus-rider’s Pumas and wishing for a pair of my very own. I like them! Perhaps there’s a coupon to make the Pumas even more affordable?

    I think it’s really whether or not your personal economy can bear the cost of them, more than this economy. You need shoes without holes, f’heaven’s sake. You’re not a GUY, after all. 🙂

  5. November 10, 2008 9:55 am

    If your current shoes have a hole you should definitely get new ones! Pumas last forever and will justify their cost by their long wear.

    I’m in the same scarf dilemma but can’t decide on what type to get :/

  6. Bonnie permalink
    November 10, 2008 11:41 am

    I freakin’ love those Pumas. Go for it.

  7. November 10, 2008 12:15 pm

    Word on the street is that nothing is going to happen until the New Year anyway.

    Buy the sneakers, they are cute!

  8. November 10, 2008 1:22 pm

    @fabulously broke – for some strange reason it DOES make me feel better that you spent $400 at etsy, even though it puts $0 in my pocket!

    @Revanche and Anny – you make a good point. Shoes without holes, what a concept.

    @paranoid asteroid – Everything I’m doing (and probably everyone else) is funded through December, but I don’t know that if any “real” news has even been announced to the company yet. Obviously it is coming, but last I heard it hadn’t flowed through the official channels yet. So everyone is mostly just guessing for now.

  9. November 10, 2008 8:01 pm

    Hah, we seem to have the same taste in clothing/shoes. I almost bought that BR mock turtleneck the other day (the sale was amazing!) but they didn’t have my size in the colour I wanted. Lame. I, too, am hankering for a nice scar to accent my mostly solid-coloured wardrobe. H&M always has a great selection, most under $10.

    Also, Pumas are amazing and last a very long time. I’ve had my black and white ones for nearly three years and they’re still in decent shape.

  10. November 10, 2008 8:03 pm

    er, scarf, not scar. 😉

  11. November 10, 2008 10:09 pm

    You don’t feel much like talking about money… THANK YOU! As much as I love personal finance, sometimes it’s just nice to take a break.

  12. November 10, 2008 10:38 pm

    @one year rent free – What, not a scar? I’ll check out H&M eventually and see what they have. Everyone is voting yes on the pumas!

    @Trevor – the funny thing is, you can generally spin anything you feel like talking about around to money. But… yeah, it gets old!

    Oh, and the sale is really only $5 off, so nothing to write home about. But every little bit helps!

Leave a Reply

