Skip to content

Personal Finance is boring, shoes are fun

November 12, 2008

It took several emails and a phone call, but my student loan deferment finally went through.  Not only that, they went back and adjusted my October and November payments such that I wasn’t charged interest when I wasn’t supposed to be.  Very good!  I shouldn’t have to make payments for the next year and 3 months!

In other money news, I feel like I’m losing interest in personal finance for the short term.  My 2008 goals and short term goals are on autopilot, and 2009 has way too many question marks for me to fill in what comes next.  This doesn’t mean I’m going to go out and run up my credit cards.  I just mean, I have the basics down, and the things I don’t have down, I don’t have the time to invest in right now.   I’m just tired of it, and tired of the economic news.

I don’t even have time for my hobbies, much less extra financial learning, extra networking, extra thought applied to my long term career goals, etc.  For the past several weeks, everything is focused on getting through the next day or two.  Get the homework done, get the work stuff done (worry that I’m doing it all wrong), do enough laundry to get through the week, clean enough dishes to eat breakfast, see the boyfriend for a couple hours.  I’ve been getting 2-3 (quite short) runs in a week, but they’ve felt crappy because I’ve been tired almost every day.

So, what am I going to do about this?  I have no idea, besides buy shoes.  I think I’ll try to get something relaxing/fun in this weekend, and I’ll just watch the calendar and wait for Thanksgiving, where at least I’ll have a four day weekend.

Oh, shoes?  Apparently having holes in my shoes is justification enough for getting new ones.  Who knew? (Um, everyone.)  In my defense you can’t actually see my socks or anything, there is just a spot where the outer fabric wore away and you can sort of see an inner lining.  Hmm, not much of a defense.   T is also buying a pair of shoes (buy one get one half off), I think we have a 10% off (which will essentially take care of taxes).  So that means I should get them for about $45 total, which is excellent! (Speaking of shoes, I loved Fabulously Broke’s shoe post. )

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 10:30 pm

    Oh how I can relate! On top of it all, I just barely lost my job. So… amongst a lot of crappy economic news, a lost job, and a recent 65% on my calculus test, I’m not too happy either, nor am I motivated to increase my financial learning as well.

    It’s just a phase; we’ll get through it! 🙂

  2. November 12, 2008 11:11 pm

    Barely lost your job? What does that mean? Anyway, I’m sorry about all that–you are right, we’ll get through it. The semester is coming to a close soon at least!

  3. November 13, 2008 7:29 am

    Our whole department basically got gobbled up by another company in the industry. We’ll all be taking pay cuts, have to drive much further to work, and we’ll be back at the bottom of the political ladder.

    Sure I’ve got other options, but it’s always tough to go through this type of change.

    Thanks for your sympathy!

  4. November 13, 2008 10:57 am

    It sounds like you are overwhelmed right now. It is great that you have everything on autopilot so you can focus on getting through each day and not worry about your finances. Who says we have to be always obsessed with our personal finances!

  5. November 13, 2008 11:39 am

    Funny, I feel the same way. Probably why I’ve been wandering off on flights of food and shoe fancy, or why I wanted to do something big and significant in lieu of staring at the bad financial/economic news.

    I’m just tired of *worrying* about stuff, when I’m short on time and patience. And what’s with feeling tired all the time? By that, I mean I feel the same way. I’ve been a zombie when I get home at 8 pm every night 😛

    Good luck with the homework!

  6. November 13, 2008 1:27 pm

    @trevor – that stinks–at least you didn’t 100% lose it, but… yeah.

    @asgreen – overwhelmed is right. Your right, it is good I can put it on autopilot. I just wish i could put work on autopilot as well!

    @Revanche – It is just one of those months, I guess. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

