Skip to content

Finally Friday

November 21, 2008

I filled up my gas tank for just under $30 yesterday, and I wasn’t quite sure what to think about that.  There was a touch of relief–more money in my budget for other things!  But there was also the knowledge that gas prices are down because our economy is so sick right now.

I can’t tell whether or not I’ll meet my November budget.  It depends on what I do this weekend, and how much I end up spending on Thanksgiving.  T and I are going to my cousin’s in Orange County, but I’m sure we’ll be bringing something, or many things, to the celebration.

One thing I do know — the next three weeks are going to be brutal.  Work is pretty crazy, school is going to require 2 finals (on one day) + 2 projects, and there is that whole Christmas shopping thing… Maybe I should start this weekend before things get insane.

I’m really excited for 2009–there are a lot of unknowns right now, but…  My E-Fund will be solid at 15k, and my rent will be less.  While there are potentially some major expenses in the plans, it might be entirely possible to pay them out of cash flow as they come up.  There will just be a lot more choices on what to do with my money.  That is what personal finance is about–choices.  (Or maybe control, can’t decide.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2008 4:22 pm

    I’ve been avidly watching gas prices with that same feeling that it’s only plummeting because of the poor economy. Rock vs. hard place.

    And Christmas shopping? I …. should totally start that as well. Yikes, thanks for the reminder!

  2. November 24, 2008 6:56 am

    You’ve been tagged! Check out my blog for the details.

  3. November 24, 2008 1:12 pm

    2 exams in one day? I officially cannot complain about school anymore. I only had one project as well. I guess that’s the nice thing about a private university: low standards.

  4. November 24, 2008 1:39 pm

    If i wanted I probably could request to take one exam early and get a proctor to give it to me at work somehow…

Leave a Reply

