Skip to content

Over budget for restaurants

November 24, 2008

I just noticed that I’ve spent $92 going out to eat this month thus far.  At first I wasn’t sure it was correct, but then I looked back and saw:

  • Sushi:  $30
  • Burgers at a local bar:  $30 (we got beer, which we usually omit)
  • Fav. local Thai place:  $21
  • Lattes, quick dinners for myself: $11

It adds up so quickly!  T also bought us Thai at a different restaurant we wanted to try.  (Verdict:  Good, but more expensive and not better.  And they charge for white rice.) He also spent $15 on burritos yesterday (in retrospect, probably unnecessary).

I’m not opposed to going out to eat now and then, but we’ve been breaking our “once a week” general rule.  Perhaps partially because I haven’t felt much like cooking and meal planning.  I still have $50 left in the grocery budget, but depending on what my cousin wants us to bring for thanskgiving, there may be much of a surplus there.  We’ll see.  Anyway, just one more weekend in November, we probably can survive without going out to eat.

Expenditures this weekend were minimal.  T bought some beer, cheese, salami, and crackers to bring to game night (my team lost horribly), and I bought some groceries for my place and some white wine.  Saturday morning we went for a long walk to the coffee shop then detoured to the ocean, then through the neighborhood by my apartment and eyed the homes for sale/rent.  Not that we actually plan to buy, but with the market crashing, we actually could afford something a mile or two in.  Just a year ago, housing in L.A. seemed 100% out of reach.

Sunday morning we hiked to the Hollywood sign, something touristy that we’ve been meaning to do. It was a nice cool day for it, but a little foggy.  I’d like to say we spent the rest of the afternoon getting our school work done, but that would be a total lie.  On the bright side, I only have a total of two homeworks left (one per class), two projects left (one per class) and two finals.  Then I’m DONE with this semester!  Whew!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. El Cheapo permalink
    November 24, 2008 8:51 pm

    I hear ya about SoCal real estate. Another 1-2 years of declining or flat prices should bring houses into the normal income/price/rentvs. own/ ratio affordability range. Its more fun shopping for places now that prices have come close to reasonability.

    Actually, most real estate die-hards and cash flow gurus whose opinions I value say that we’re probably going to be flat for another 3+ years. This mainly due to less jobs and the fact that we’re barely 1/2 way through the ARM resetting cycle which was so prevalent during the housing boom in LA. Good news for a young renter like me.

  2. November 26, 2008 7:40 am

    El cheapo – I won’t be buying now for real, I might move from LA before that… but before buying property seemed unreasonable and impossible. Now it seems… less unreasonable and less impossible!

  3. November 27, 2008 12:14 pm

    Oh I know what you mean about it adding up so quickly. It was crazy how much I spent when I was travelling!

  4. steve permalink
    December 3, 2008 12:08 am

    Try figuring out why you haven’t felt like preparing meals for yourself. When that happens with me, it’s usually because a) the fridge is gross and b) I need to shop to buy some things that are appealing to eat.

    Also, its ok not to meal plan so much–just make up double batches of whatever you’re making and have some of it the next day or for lunch.

    My eating out rule is more stringent–once a month–and some things have happened recently that have made me cut it out altogether for the next several months. So I definitely need to be on top of the shopping and preparing lunches thing. It helps to have some servings of chile in the freezer for those times I just don’t have the energy to cook.

  5. December 3, 2008 8:13 am

    I know exactly why I haven’t been cooking–I’ve been really stressed with school and work. I don’t do formal meal planning, but if I don’t go to the grocery store with at least a couple meals in mind, I don’t know what to make.

Leave a Reply

