Skip to content

Christmas Budget

November 26, 2008

I sketched out a rough Christmas budget ages ago in order to figure out what I’d need in my gift fund for the year. I have two sisters, and one of them is married with a growing family, so my list keeps growing. I am not completely opposed to going a little over/under budget for certain people, depending on the gift I find for them.

  • T: $75 (This is the most flexible. Currently I have exactly zero good ideas, so we’ll see how much whatever I come up with costs.  And it depends on how good he is.)
  • Mom: $50
  • Dad: $50
  • Older Sister: $50
  • Brother in Law: $25
  • Nephew: $25
  • Niece (unborn!): $50 (sort of just a “you are having a baby!” gift, probably from the registry)
  • Little Sister: $50
  • T’s Family: $30 (this is hard!)
  • Grandma/Grandpa: $20
  • Friend’s baby: $10 (maybe)
  • Friends (2): $20 (we’ve been doing small gifts for years, and I don’t want to be caught unprepared)
  • TOTAL: $420

In my family, we often make up little wish lists to help each other out, but no one seems to want anything in particular this year. I’m just not one of those people who loves finding the perfect gift for others. Well, I do love it, I just am not good at it! The more busy/stressed I am with other things in life, the less joy I get out of gift giving.

I’m also not one of those people who sees things throughout the year and buys in advance. Nor do I make homemade things, and in most cases, I don’t think people would want any homemade stuff from me!

I do love Christmas. I love spending time with family and friends, I love the Christmas tree, the dinner, and the holiday music. I’m incredibly excited to see my family (I’m hoping my niece comes a little early!) and to see my relatives and old friends I haven’t seen since I moved last winter (or longer). I just don’t like Christmas shopping!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 8:04 am

    This definitely seems like a worthwhile way to budget for the holidays. And I definitely know the feeling of being frustrated when you can’t seem to find the perfect gift for someone. Sometimes it works out magically, but other times finding the right gift for the right person can be so stressful!

  2. November 27, 2008 11:55 am

    I don’t mind Christmas shopping, but I also have a hard time finding the “right” gifts! Once I eventually learn to knit I will start making my own gifts – but otherwise, everything will be bought. 🙂

  3. November 29, 2008 9:11 am

    Great budget! Looking at yours makes me think I’m spending too much! 😦

  4. November 29, 2008 9:13 am

    Great budget! Looking at yours makes me think I’m spending too much! 😦

  5. December 16, 2008 11:31 pm

    We should also remember the real essence of Christmas. Why we celebrate it and how we should really be celebrating it.

Trackbacks

  1. November Goal Results, December Goals « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

