Skip to content

December Goal Results, Net Worth, and January Goals

January 2, 2009

Last Net Worth of 2008
I tallied up my net worth, and it rebounded to nearly $25k, almost back to its August peak. I don’t take any credit for it, it is mainly due to the stock market not completely sucking (S&P was up ever so slightly for the month). For 2008, I increased from $13,059 to $24,718. Not as much as I would have hoped, but given the stock market’s huge drop, I’m not complaining.

December Goals
I’m not going to detail my December goals, as they were basically just living life. I did save $650 in my efund, finish my school stuff, buy all my Christmas presents (very last minute!) and visit my family/friends. I coasted through December, spending an absurd (to me) amount on eating out, personal care, and gifts but very little on gas/grocery.

January Goals

  1. Stay on top of school from Day 1 – My biggest weakness last quarter was always feeling behind/disorganized. Part of it was because I started on course 2 weeks after it started, but more of it was just lack of organization. So. I’m going to get organized this quarter!
  2. Stay on budget (and post new budget) – My new budget involves a lot more savings subcategories, after months of focusing on the Efund. Spending categories are about the same.
  3. Cook 2+ new things – December was a horrible food month. I ate out a lot and cooked very little. I should have more time this month to get back into cooking.
  4. Run 3 times a week – I didn’t run at all while at home. I was too scared of the cold weather. Time to get back on the ball!
  5. Take daily vitamins – Either a basic multivitamin, or at least, some iron. I tried to donate blood and was too low on iron to qualify. I’m a little nervous about vitamins though (no federal regulations). Does anyone have any thoughts on this?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 7:46 am

    I have to be better at figuring out a schedule and process for backing up items from 2 laptops and 2 usb keys LOL!

    Your goals sound good. Being organized is always a good thing. I’m thinking of adopting David Allen’s GTD method.

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver…

  2. January 2, 2009 11:54 am

    Organization is one of my weakest points, I should work on that too. I think you did great for the year, I lost at least $11k in my investments. I wasn’t tracking my net worth last year so I’m not sure how I fared overall. Here’s to hoping for a better 2009, good luck on your goals.

  3. sfordinarygirl permalink
    January 2, 2009 5:02 pm

    I’d be wary of taking vitamins. Most of them including supplements are manufactured in China. The country-of-origin labeling rules are vague and not consistent with US regulations. It says “made in the USA,” but ingredients or parts of what’s used to make vitamin c are sourced from China. The number of vitamin companies registered in China are growing daily … given the pet food scandal and China’s other safety issues, I’d proceed with caution.

  4. January 2, 2009 7:45 pm

    Congratulations on your success with the overall 08 networth!

  5. January 4, 2009 12:30 pm

    Vitamins – check out what Jillian Michaels has to say about them. She endorses this one special brand on her site which is really expensive. But she also talks on her radio show that if you cannot afford that, make sure you take a multi with no preservatives. One brand she recommended (that has no preservatives and I now use) is Rainbow Light. They have a for women multi-vitamin. I find it at The Vitamin Shoppe. They have those stores in LA.

  6. moneymatekate permalink
    January 8, 2009 8:09 am

    About vitamins … do you happen to know a Registered Dietitian? All you really need to know is what brands are reputable (price is not the indicator you might imagine). I used to see an RD who only ever suggested one supplement for me: a probiotic, since I don’t like yoghurt and travel abroad a lot. One of the brands she recommended was Jarro, which turned out to be the cheapest in the store.

Leave a Reply

