Skip to content

Saturdays in Los Angeles

January 5, 2009

This school term, I hope to reserve Saturday’s for doing fun stuff around L.A., leaving Sundays for school and house work. I got too wrapped up in my classes last quarter, and my life felt stressful and un-fun.

I really do love living in Los Angeles, but sometimes I don’t feel like I take enough advantage of it. Within a relatively short drive, there is a huge variety of stuff: City life, ocean/beach life, mountains, desert, forrest, hot springs… I need to take advantage of all this area has to offer, in case I’m not here long term. I hope to keep these activities low cost, but I’ll spend a few dollars as needed.

To kick of the year, T and I hiked 9.5 miles through Santia Anita Canyon. We were going to camp overnight, but decided to just do it as a day hike instead.

img_15921

In personal finance news, I bough a new small backpack to use as a daypack, just big enough for 2L camelback of water and a few supplies. It’s perfect for cooler weather where I don’t need to carry much, but we may need more water on hot days. It’ll double as a sort of summit pack for overnights. That plus a map was about $50. T covered the food, and we spent four hours strolling through the woods.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 7:28 am

    What a good plan, I feel the same way about living in LA. There are many cool places that I haven’t seen, let us know what you discover. I’m in bad shape and haven’t gone to the gym in weeks, I don’t think I could make that long of a hike!

  2. January 5, 2009 3:02 pm

    That hike sounds like fun! My bf have only gone hiking once… I’d like to do it again sometime. πŸ™‚

  3. January 5, 2009 5:02 pm

    Miss M – I’ll be sure to post some stuff! And… I haven’t gone running in weeks either, it was a little brutal the next day!

    Sunflower – there is tons of stuff around! Also, thanks for the hair suggestions!

  4. January 5, 2009 5:41 pm

    Oh man.. Hiking 9.5 miles. That’s awesome and an unexpected way to enjoy LA. It’s cool to hear that LA residents are doing more natural adventures and going beyond the city. πŸ™‚

  5. El Cheapo permalink
    January 5, 2009 6:29 pm

    That’s a great hike, I hiked it a couple years back with my brother-in-law. He’s 6’5″ (ie. long strides) so it was hard to keep up! The thing about LA is that you can surf/swim and ski all in the same day… within a one-hour drive each way. Definitely no shortage of things to see/do here…

  6. January 5, 2009 7:16 pm

    Wow… 9.5 miles sounds great! And I like that you’re taking more time to enjoy your time in LA. You might as well! πŸ™‚

  7. January 6, 2009 12:39 pm

    Chad & I have been talking about moving back to the East Coast, and I went into a panic thinking about all the classic California things we haven’t done yet. I started making a list of the places I wanted to hike & visit, restaurants I wanted to try. Even some real vacation stuff is easier from LA – like going to Hawaii or San Francisco.

    That’s definitely going to be on my list for this year!

  8. Bonnie permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:01 pm

    My boyfriend and I are dreaming of living in LA. Enjoy every minute!!!!!

  9. January 6, 2009 9:34 pm

    Arielle – there is so much great nature around L.A., but it isn’t something people associate with this city

    El Cheapo – I have to hike in front otherwise I’m constantly saying “slow down!” That is so true about evverything being so close

    Trevor – Exactly, what is the point in living in an expensive city if I’m not going to go out and use it up?

    Paranoid Asteroid – It is so easy to think we’ll do those things “later”. Good point about the vacations.

    Bonnie – Thanks! Where do you live now (if you don’t mind me asking)?

  10. Bonnie permalink
    January 7, 2009 9:58 am

    SP–I am originally from Memphis but have lived in St. Louis for about 8 years (!!). I have always wanted to live in a large city, and after my boyfriend and I visited LA in September, it shot to the top of our list! He lived there until he was 15 and then again for a while in his early 20s and really misses it. Could you tell me which neighborhood you live in (or which neighborhoods you really like), or is that too much info for the blogosphere?

Leave a Reply

