Skip to content

I want… (reprise)

January 7, 2009

I’m in a shopping mood lately, but I haven’t been purchasing much.  Just browsing various sites, occasionally adding stuff to my shopping cart then leaving without purchasing.  (Do you do that, or is it just me?)

Some things I’m currently coveting:

Iwantit1.  New bedding, ridiculously feminine
2.  A new more professional camera
3.  A fancy dress, and perhaps an occasion to wear it!  I’m really considering buying a (much cheaper than pictured) party dress.  I don’t often need them, but with the after new years sales, they are dirt cheap.
4.  Designer jeans.  I’m not sure why I think I want these, but I have $75 in Nordstrom cards calling my name…  Unfortunately, these are $200, a ridiculous price for jeans.
5.  Insoles for my hiking boots.  My knee was killing me on the steep downhill last weekend.
6.  A couple new every day bras.  Note:  Consumer reports says cheaper bras are more satisfying (though they tested on 34B women, may not be true for larger sizes)
7.  A sweater dress, preferably a striped one.  If this was in my size, I don’t think I could resist buying it!
8.  A really organized closet.  You can’t exactly buy this.  I keep my sweaters in my dresser drawer, but I’m wondering if there is a better way?
9.  A giant ring
10.  These ballet flats.  My sister bought them to wear with her Christmas outfit, and I was immediately jealous.
11.  Several basic cami’s for wearing under stuff

After Christmas, I my “want” list was pretty much empty (from getting or deciding I didn’t want), but it took less than a month to fill it up again!  I’m certainly not planning on actually buying all that, especially not a camera or ring or bedding or $200 jeans or $200 dress…  But some bras and those insoles?  Probably will happen.  (And maybe a sweater dress and ballet flats too.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 8:01 am

    Oh, how I wish Consumer Reports were right on this one. I’m a 34DD, and if I find a bra for under $60, it’s an amazing thing. Well, if I find a GOOD bra, that is. I’ve bought some of the less expensive ones and they either look like something my grandmother would wear or they stretch out incredibly quickly.

  2. SP permalink*
    January 7, 2009 8:36 am

    Megan – I think the study is flawed because they didn’t test/consider people who actually need a lot of support in their bras. But I’ve bought bras at a range of prices and honestly never noticed a large difference.

  3. January 7, 2009 9:45 am

    OMG the Canon G10 is amazing. I’ve only had it for about 2 weeks and I am head over heels in love with it. Worth every single penny.

    Also I have prescription insoles for my hiking boots now, but even when I had store bought insoles, they did wonders for my comfort level. Especially when you’re in your boots and on your feet for hours and hours and hours.

  4. January 7, 2009 10:00 am

    I put things in my basket and then leave out purchasing all the time! For me it’s retail therapy without actually buying anything.

  5. January 7, 2009 10:19 am

    I often shop without buying, I’ll fill up the cart and then just close the window. I’m in love with buying stuff, not in love with what it means for my wallet. I wonder how many people can truly afford $200 jeans. Have you tried Crossroads trading, they resell clothing and only take designer or fashionable stuff. I’ve seen a lot of designer jeans there for $30-$40.

    PS Megan – Mr M would love you!

  6. January 7, 2009 11:54 am

    Filling up the cart & leaving is totally normal, I think. It all looks so innocent, a $20 dress here, $15 for some cute flats, $5 for underwear with polka dots on it… it adds up and when I see the final number – no matter how good of a deal it all seems to be individually – I have to make myself leave.

    Don’t know if you checked the old sweater dress post of mine, but I do want to say that I bought 2 in October or November & they are so comfortable (now that it’s finally cold enough to wear them!). It’s like wearing a nightgown, but looking like you put in tons of effort.

  7. January 7, 2009 12:04 pm

    I’ve done it (online shopping; adding items to a cart and then leave site before making purchase) at least three times today. But I’ll stick to my guns and tray not to purchase anything this week…….one week at a time.

  8. El Cheapo permalink
    January 7, 2009 7:54 pm

    RE: #4

    I’ve seen Seven jeans at Nordstrom Rack for between $75 to $99. I used to turn up my nose at people that bought ‘premium’ jeans until someone bought me a pair of Mavi’s a few years back. Hmmm… since then I got hooked! While its hard to rationalize spending a bill on Seven jeans, from my perspective they do last about twice as long as Levis and three times as long as cheaper Old Navy jeans.

  9. January 9, 2009 12:37 pm

    It seems like all clothing is ridiculously cheap right now. I was able to nab a $50 sweater dress about a week ago for $10 – satisfying my lust for trends while placating my wallet 😉

    As to the bras? I’m a 34dd also and will not buy cheap bras. I will buy deeply discounted bras, but a cheap one? Nope. A bad bra will screw up the enire outline of your figure and make everything else you’re wearing moot. Imagine a sweater dress with a poorly fitting bra *shudder* On the bright side VS is running their semi-annual sale!

  10. January 9, 2009 2:06 pm

    You’ve been in the shopping mood lately too, eh? I spent over $225 on two pairs of shoes the other day- totally uncharacteristic of me!

  11. January 9, 2009 9:29 pm

    Those jeans are sweet. I want to own a pair of $200 jeans just so I can walk into bar, and for others to say, “All the other guys were wearing $200 jeans”. That would make my millennium.

Trackbacks

  1. Fufilled wish list « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

