Skip to content

Saturdays around L.A. 2: Getty Villa and Malibu

January 11, 2009

The main reason we hadn’t made it to the Getty Villa yet was the fact that you need tickets. Never mind that these tickets are completely free–it requires planning ahead. I ordered mine just over a week in advance for 10 a.m. Saturday. I highly recommend going early (they open at 10) as it was almost empty for the first hour or so.

It is $10 to park (if you are really industrious, you can probably get there by public transit), and we ended up having a light lunch for two for $20: waters, bread, soup, and bruschetta. You could easily spend much more in the cute cafe (wine, full meals, tiramisu), or bring your own food and have a little picnic in the outdoor theater.

gettyvilla1 We drove another 14 miles to Point Dume, presumably to see some whales (I didn’t have high hopes). We didn’t see any whales (do you really have to go on a whale watching boat?), but it was such a clear day (thanks for clearing the smog, Santa Ana) and the ocean was more gorgeous than usual. (The photo in the lower left is from Saturday, rest are from a different day. ) I went to Point Dume last spring as well and I highly recommend it. If the tide is right, you can see sea life in the tide pools. I was dying to see a starfish in the wild, but no such luck.

We parked in a residential area (free, .7 mile walk) and strolled through an incredibly nice neighborhood, bound to make anyone jealous. In my little life, it is easy to ignore the fact that that there are people out there living in (what I see as) the lap of luxury. It is equally disturbing when you see the other end of the spectrum, and easiest to just pretend everyone lives like you (not at all true).
pointdume
It would have been a relatively inexpensive day, had we not stopped in Santa Monica for some shopping at REI’s “super clearance” (because “clearance” alone couldn’t express how discounted things were).

Sundays are supposed to be reserved for productivity and school, but unfortunately, I’m not on the ball with school yet. I’m not completely behind, but I had high hopes of being ahead at this stage.

PS – Let me know if you’d like (or hate) to see more of these “Saturdays around L.A.” posts. They are a bit of a stretch for PF blogging, and most of you probably live elsewhere.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 12:50 pm

    I am a big fan of this! I was actually happy to hear about the Getty Villa; I always want to drive up to Malibu but besides going to Gladstones I feel like it’s mostly looking at the beach. Which, OK, I’m sort of over the ebach at this point.

    I’ve gone whale watching in Palos Verdes, and it’s not the most exciting this. You mostly just see the tail, and (at least in PV) I bet a boat tour would be more exciting since you’d be closer.

  2. bayoujosh permalink
    January 12, 2009 1:00 pm

    Keep the ‘Day in LA’ posts coming SP. It’s freezing in WI today, and it’s nice to see that somewhere out there, someone is enjoying some nice warm weather.

    Thanks,
    bayou

  3. January 12, 2009 2:04 pm

    These posts kind of have to do with money… and they’re so very, very pretty! Also, I second bayoujosh; for someone trying not to slip on the remnants of last week’s ice storm, pictures of pristine beaches really hit the spot!

  4. January 12, 2009 2:16 pm

    How beautiful! I’m in Jersey so spent the weekend inside shielded from the snow and ice…made brownies, watched tv, played games and enjoyed a different type of company πŸ™‚

  5. January 12, 2009 2:17 pm

    Glad you made it out to the Getty Villa! The photos are gorgeous, makes me feel like I’m not missing out, oddly. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  6. Tifanny permalink
    January 12, 2009 2:46 pm

    I definately think you should keep doing the Saturdays around LA posts πŸ™‚ I live in Canada and its freezing here haha. Plus I love travel (the pictures are beautiful:)) and it does have to do something with money!

  7. January 12, 2009 8:56 pm

    that beach…glorious!

  8. El Cheapo permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:01 am

    Love the LA posts, keep ’em coming!

  9. January 13, 2009 2:16 am

    I think it’s great! I’m hoping to discover new places to visit πŸ™‚

  10. January 13, 2009 10:22 am

    I’ve been to Getty Center but not the Villa yet, I can’t wait to go. I should make plans now while gas is cheap! I love tide pools too, I can’t say I’ve seen many starfish in LA tide pools. Lots of anenomes, maybe a sea cuke and plenty of crabs. Sunday we drove up Angeles crest with all the doggies (my 3 plus my mom and her two), there was snow on the ground but the air was 65+. It was great and so clear you could see to Catalina.

  11. January 13, 2009 10:27 am

    @Miss M – snow on the ground? That sounds so fun!

    @Paranoid Asteroid – Do you recommend Gladstones? Reviews online seem mixed at best. I’m still not over the beach. πŸ™‚ But i typically don’t go to Malibu to see it.

    @ everyone else – thanks for the positive feedback! Ice storms can be beautiful too (though less pleasant to endure)

  12. Bonnie permalink
    January 13, 2009 11:51 am

    No surprise…please keep doing LA posts! πŸ™‚

  13. January 13, 2009 1:28 pm

    @SP – I know you didn’t direct the comment to me, but thought I would put my 2 cents in anyway. πŸ˜‰ The food isn’t spectacular, but it’s good, and the view is pretty… my bf and I rollerbladed up there last summer (from SM Pier), and sat outside and watched the sunset while we ate. (we were also attacked by seagulls! lol)

  14. January 13, 2009 1:38 pm

    I like it! you should keep writing about staurdays in LA. Should I do the same thing for OC? πŸ™‚

  15. jade permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:32 pm

    Hey SP! I personally would really, really love to see more of your Saturdays around LA posts. I’m originally from Portland, so I don’t really know what to do on the weekends that’s cheap and involves exercise (my fiance hates the traditional workout, so walking like you did 0.7 miles to your destination sounds like a good way to sneak some aerobics in!). I might have to do a copycat of your Getty Villa trip in the coming weekends! πŸ™‚

  16. mark permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:44 pm

    Any with advice on moving to LA…maybe Malibu? I’m a yoga enthusiast, massage therapist early 40’s man. A very late bloomer:)
    Any Blogs that might help me…

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Fun | Debt Relief Articles | Loan Articles
  2. Weekend Fun | Business Manufacturing - Business Loans

Leave a Reply

