Skip to content

January Goal Results & Net Worth Update, February Goals

February 1, 2009

January Goals

  1. Stay on top of school from Day 1 Win! I am more organized (I think!), and I’m currently on top of things.  Was I from day 1?  Probably not, but I’m going to call this good.
  2. Stay on budget (and post new budget)Win! My new budget involves a lot more savings subcategories, after months of focusing on the Efund. Spending categories are about the same.  Did I stay on budget?  I adjust it throughout the month, so it is hard to say, but nothing was way out of whack, so I say… yes.
  3. Cook 2+ new thingsWin! I made Seattle Girl’s Tortilla Soup (yum!!!) and mushroom soft tacos (also yum).  I also made this Baked Quinoa and Spinach, but I had made it before.  I like it because it packs really easy for lunches.
  4. Run 3 times a week Fail. More like 1-2 times, but I’m improving.  It helps that the sun is setting later and later, but I was sick for almost a whole week (thus, working extra the following week).
  5. Take daily vitamins Fail. I didn’t do this.  I don’t know.  I’m not sure why I set this as a goal since I’m not sure it is something I want to do.

Net Worth Report:  Cash is slightly down–I invested $1000 extra into my Roth IRA.  Mostly at the mercy of the market, I’m down 3.6% to $23,818.  My net worth has been dancing around between $20k-$25k since last May.

February Goals

  1. Stick to “once a week” eating out rule. We’ve been breaking this on a pretty regular basis.  This includes take out or buying sandwiches when we don’t feel like cooking.  This will help with Krystal’s February Food Challenge:  my goal is $200 for groceries and eating out.
  2. Run 2-3 times a week – The ever recurring goal.  Someday this will just be assumed, and I won’t have to list it.
  3. Study appropriately for midterm – I know I’ll do this, so I’m guaranteed to have one success.
  4. Savings goals:  $175 to car fund, $175 to travel fund, $75 to long term travel, $200 to efund.  So basically, follow budget.  Also, these are separate from savings due to bonus money or tax refunds…
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2009 3:42 pm

    Good job on staying organized and staying under budget. I’m being much better this month and for the whole year of 2009. I can’t wait to post yearly amounts

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver.

  2. February 1, 2009 11:20 pm

    Congrats on keeping up in school. Wish I could say the same! Your grades will reflect your being so caught up. Good for you.

  3. February 2, 2009 1:41 am

    If I sound nagging please forgive me. Majority of the vitamins are manufactured in China even though the label may say “product of the USA” or “made in the USA.” So even if you forget or don’t them them at all you’re still better off not gambling with the quality and safety of Chinese vitamins.

    The quinoa recipe looks very doable, quick and easy to make. Thanks for sharing – I’ve been trying to cook something where I don’t have to monitor constantly and quick and I’ve got most of the ingredients and curious about the final product.

  4. February 2, 2009 7:04 am

    Hey you’re doing great. I’m failing the exercise too, work has been too busy for me to do it all. The market has been mean to all of us lately. Good luck with the rest of your goals.

  5. February 2, 2009 9:18 am

    Awh. I’m glad you liked it! That baked quinoa and spinach looks tasty…I’ll give it a try for sure! I have found a ton of great recipes in the nytimes!

  6. February 2, 2009 10:08 am

    @Trevor – Well to be fair I only have one class to stay on top of. It is way easier to focus on just one than to juggle.

    @sfordinary girl – Yes, your first comment really made me think twice about the vitamins. It is so much harder to try to get everything from diet alone, but maybe, worth it to do that (or go without). Also, the quinoa is pretty easy, it does take some time (cooking the quinoa and baking), but there isn’t all that much active prep.

    @Miss M – thanks! I just try to keep a bare minimum of exercise in there–it keeps me sane. Or at least, closer to sane.

    @seattle girl – I think I originally started surfing the NYTimes recipes from a link from your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

