Skip to content

25 things

February 2, 2009

I was tagged, both in the blog world and the Facebook world.  There is a teensy bit of personal finance in here, but mostly, just personal.  Tag yourselves!

  1. I have both an older and younger sister, but I feel likes I got a lot of the “oldest” character traits. (I still sympathize with Jan Brady…  Marsha, Marsha, Marsha!)

  2. I used to drive 8 hours each way in a weekend to see T in college. Now I whine about driving 8 miles in bad traffic.
  3. My grandma was one of 18 children.  Can you even imagine???
  4. I’m in desperate need of an international vacation, but I’m not ready to part with the cash.
  5. I went to a Lutheran high school, and a lot of my classmates were evangelical Christians.  And Republicans.  And rich. (I wasn’t any of those.)

  6. I was a YMCA Indian Princess as a child.  Complete with headband, vests, and badges.
  7. I regularly have to recite to myself “i before e, except after c…”   Love spell check.

  8. I have seriously considered training for and running a marathon more than once… yet I’ve never even ran in a 5k race.
  9. I’m a universal blood donor, so let me know if you ever need a pint.
  10. Being so far from my family is hard, but I really love living in California and I’m glad I moved. (Solution:  They all must move here.)
  11. Once I washed my clothes in only fabric softener for about 1.5 months.  I was in Hong Kong and thought I’d purchased liquid detergent.  Whoops.
  12. I can not hold a grudge or stay angry, even if I try really really hard.
  13. But I can get upset kind of easily, and I can’t help it, even if I try really really hard.

  14. Grey’s Anatomy has gotten to be pretty bad this season, but I won’t give up on it. (But seriously, Denny died in season 2.  Go away!)

  15. My vision is really bad and I have a lazy eye that is noticeable when I’m tired/drinking.  Because of that, I had glasses in preschool (and contacts by 7th grade).
  16. I always had a million different ideas of what I wanted to be “when I grew up” and pretty much stumbled upon my career thanks to my high school science teacher.
  17. I like Chinese takeout, but I hate eating out at Chinese restaurants.  Especially buffets.  (Dim sum excluded from hate)
  18. I was a swimmer in high school.  Not a talented one, but I still smelled like chlorine all fall.
  19. For several years, I thought I hated running (seemed like such an inefficient way to get around).  Now I love it.

  20. I pierced my belly button shortly after I turned 18, and my parents (well, my mom) fully approved and thought it was cute.
  21. My latest unrealistic (but just realistic enough) day dream is to climb mount Kilimanjaro in the next 5 years.  It’s physically challenging, but not as technical as other major mountains (ie, Everest).  (PF note:  It is really expensive.)

  22. I’m bad at team sports, but I like outdoorsy stuff and sports that don’t involve balls and/or coordination (there aren’t many of those)

  23. When I have a good idea, I get really impatient to make it happen NOW.
  24. I didn’t get to be HS valedictorian due to a B+ in gym class.  I wasn’t even bad at gym.  But since we already had 3 valedictorians in my class of ~50, I guess they didn’t need me!

  25. If I could go back in time and give myself one piece of advice (over and over and over) it would be “Don’t worry so much, it will be fine!”  Yet I can never seem to stop!
8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 5:57 am

    1. I heard running is bad for your knees and back, so I’ve switched to biking.

    2. I want an international vacation as well, but I also cannot part with the cash.

    3. I have since started hating dim sum, and I can’t eat at buffets either. Takeout seems to have dodged that bullet.

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver.

  2. February 3, 2009 12:14 pm

    I missed valedictorian because of my constant C in Math *heh*

  3. February 3, 2009 12:31 pm

    @FB – Running is not bad for your knees, as long as you run responsibly and aren’t overweight (or maybe, you can even be a bit overweight–not sure).
    Sources:
    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-241-285–12232-0,00.html
    And Google in general.

    @Anny – Ha, that would do it too. I may have also had an A- in keyboarding. We had to learn the parts of a TYPEWRITER and I forgot some. How outdated!

  4. February 3, 2009 1:51 pm

    I was an Indian Princess too! I was recently talking about it with a few friends and my boyfriend was like “you were what?” and everyone agreed! Apparently it wasn’t so wide spread….

  5. February 3, 2009 1:57 pm

    That’s great! It’s fun to get to know the blogger behind the blog! 🙂

  6. moneymatekate permalink
    February 8, 2009 3:25 pm

    Climbing Kili is cheaper than any of the safari trips. Recommendation: know before you go how well you handle altitude. I don’t (Machu Picchu 9000-14000 ft, Kili 20000!!!), so I’ll just be hangin’ in the Olduvai Gorge nearby.

  7. February 8, 2009 3:59 pm

    @moneymatekate – Thanks for the tip! It is pretty rare to actually hear from someone who knows these things. This idea is still 2+ years off. Need to accumulate both $$ and more endurance, and more practicing on much smaller mtns.

Trackbacks

  1. PF Mad Lib fun! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

