Skip to content

Current Lust: Basic Black Skirt

February 3, 2009

If I could score this skirt for $20 (-30% off code = $14!) I would buy it in a second.  Never mind  I ended up returning most of my Martin + Osa order last fall (weird fit issues) and it might look bad and be returned.

They don’t have my size, but I have been coveting it (it will complete my life, really) and checking daily to see if size options change (they often do).

skirt

What do you think?

PS – Note this post is tagged with the career category, as though buying it would be an investment in my career.  Not really true, but it makes me feel better to pretend.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 5:29 am

    HAH! I just bought another necklace online, rationalizing that I’ve been lusting after it for months and it’s a colour, texture and shape of stone that I don’t own 🙂

    I think the skirt is cute. Looks uncomfortable though, like if you sat down it’d cut into your belly. But then again I have a kind of round belly….

    Fabulously Broke in the City
    Just a girl trying to find a balance between being a Shopaholic and a Saver.

  2. February 4, 2009 8:35 am

    Actually, to me it looks high enough that it wouldn’t cut into your belly. hehe.

    If you can get it for $14 that’d be awesome. It doesn’t look particularly trendy, so you could probably wear it for a long time without worrying about the style.

    If you have time to look in other places I’ve scored some nice skirts at I.N.C. sales, Ann Taylor Sales, and if you have patience (I usually don’t) you may be able to score some good ones at Marshalls, Ross, etc. (I got a cute tulip skirt there for $7 once!)

  3. February 4, 2009 11:15 am

    I’ve forgiven them a little bit recently: one of their button down shirts (~$12 on clearance) worked out very nicely for my interview. It didn’t get me the job, but I can’t blame that on the shirt.

  4. February 4, 2009 11:45 am

    I think its high enough to be flattering and comfortable. Plus I’m a tactile person and this looks soft!

    I’m a firm believer in buying pieces that will last and can be easily dressed up or down so I’d buy it.

  5. February 4, 2009 11:49 am

    Well I’m glad you agree, now if only if my size would show up on the site! After 3 straight days of checking and no updates to availability, I’ve kind of lost hope.

    It might be worth going to the physical location this Sunday (after my midterm exam!), but it seems that most stores have better size selection online than in store around here.

    Martin + Osa has some really good sale prices, but the prices they put for their full price items are almost laughable.

  6. February 5, 2009 12:15 pm

    Very sweet! I love it. They are out of my size too 😦 It seems pretty basic and well worth the money spent.

  7. February 5, 2009 12:22 pm

    @simplelivin’ – They had my size this morning, and I ordered it, but now it is gone again. I’m worried they might email me and tell me it is out of stock — they’ve done it before!

    And I had to google hard to find a new 30% off code, the one I had expired.

  8. February 5, 2009 9:25 pm

    Nice skirt – and price. 🙂 I am slightly embarrassed to say that I have never heard of Martin + Osa in my life (although I see that there are a couple in my state, weird), but their stuff looks pretty nice. I might have to check it out, though not until March because I am NOT buying anymore clothing this month. Probably. I hope.

Leave a Reply

