Skip to content

Monday gloom

February 9, 2009

It seems the USPS lost the package my parents sent me, which included the Yoga DVD I was supposed to be getting for Christmas.  I kind of tried (selfishly) to hint that they should replace it (it didn’t arrive on time for Christmas), but so far, they are oblivious to my hint.  I suppose I should grow up and just get it for myself if I really want it.

I’ve been stalking plane tickets home to see my new niece (and everyone), but they are still expensive.  The non-stop ones, which I really was hoping for, even more so.  I’m going to go regardless of price, of course.   I just thought there would be better airfare deals with the economy being so awful.  And there are a lot of deals, just none for where I need to go, when I’m available.  I wish I had booked them for next weekend.  I really could go for a few days with my family right now.

I’ve been feeling extra insecure lately, in a way I really haven’t since my first few months in L.A. and was new to my job. I really hate it, and I don’t know how to handle it.  Even as a full-fledged adult, I am not all that talented at battling my insecurities when they attack.  Like zits, I thought it might be something I’d “outgrow” in time.  Also like zits, it still occasionally pops up.  Suggestions welcome.  The best solution I’ve come up with is try to eliminate any unnecessary stress, go running as often as possible,  take baths, and wait it out.   I just hope I don’t have to wait long!

Gah, I hate Mondays!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 7:12 am

    I’m now 32 and often feel that way, but in the last year or two I’ve started to gain confidence. Partly I’ve stopped caring what people think. Also getting control of my finances has helped with my confidence. I sometimes feel like a teenager stuck in an adult’s body, still a bit awkward and unsure. I think LA has a way of doing that to you. I hope you can make it home for a visit. Maybe these rains will wash away your Monday blues.

  2. February 9, 2009 9:08 am

    I hope you’re feeling better soon.

  3. February 9, 2009 12:02 pm

    Good luck, I’m sending positive thoughts your way! I’ve been freaking out (mostly due to the economy and my fruitless job hunting) on a minute-to-minute basis as well, and I totally understand how hard it is to deny the insecurities a foothold.

    Hang in there, you’re going to get to see your brand new niece soon, how exciting is that?? If nothing else, I’m really excited that my BFF’s having a baby and I’m going to have a really cute new nephew to cuddle.

  4. Bonnie permalink
    February 9, 2009 12:18 pm

    I’m 32 and still feel that way all the time. It doesn’t help that my skin is not that much different from a 16-year-old’s. 🙂

  5. February 9, 2009 12:33 pm

    So, 30 isn’t the “magic age” when all my problems will disappear? Drat!

    Thanks for the nice words all!

  6. February 9, 2009 2:45 pm

    Did your parents have any tracking on your package? USPS will routinely misroute stuff (I eBay a lot) but seldom outright lose something! Have you looked for the dvd on half.com, exercise vids seem ridiculously cheap there!

    As to insecurities? I’m like Bonnie – 30 with the skin and insecurities of a sixteen year old 😉 Just have to wait it out!

  7. February 9, 2009 2:52 pm

    Ick, insecurities. I get rid of them by working out or by thinking of everything i’ve accomplished so far. That usually gets rid of those little negative thoughts that can creep up at any moment.

    Did your parents insure the USPS package?

  8. February 9, 2009 3:23 pm

    No insurance, no tracking, or else it would be less of a problem! T got his lost b-day present through USPS about 6 months after it was mailed…

    My dad is going to “look into it”, but i don’t think much can come of it w/out tracking number

  9. El Cheapo permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:48 pm

    Blame it on LA. Seriously. All sizzle with no steak. Having spent most of my young adult life in the Midwest living away from close family, I know how it feels to be detached and on an island (even though you have a loving S/O, great job, hip pad, and good postal service, etc). I say you buy that ticket and don’t worry about spending an extra few bucks. After all, life experiences w/ family are always worth the time and $$$ we put into it.

  10. February 9, 2009 9:25 pm

    Isn’t this why they party call it the quarter life crisis? I’ve been feeling a little bit like this over the weekend too (im 25). I think all the negativity in the media re the economy is putting extra stress on us too.

  11. February 9, 2009 9:27 pm

    party = partly

Leave a Reply

