Skip to content

V-day 2009

February 13, 2009

Hating Valentine’s Day is much more cliche than the holiday itself!

by krisdecurtis

I refuse to ignore Valentine’s day, even if it may be over-commercialized.  Even back in my single days, I never hated the holiday.  When I lived at home, my parents always got us small little gifts.   In college it was a great time for a girls night, though I don’t think I was single too many college valentine’s days.

My expectations (some may call them requirements) for the holiday are:

  • a card (can be homemade, must be written in)
  • flowers, roses not needed, an inexpensive bouquet will make me smile (once I got homemade paper flowers, that was kinda cute)
  • Surprises are nice (but I guess, not needed)
  • love, attention, and adoration!  Well, this should be every day!

Our original plan was to plan a short overnight camping trip, to escape the Valentine’s day craziness and yet still do something we enjoy together.  The forecast for the weekend was pretty rainy, but now Saturday (and Sunday??) look clear.  Anyway, we thought it was going to rain, so we planned a day hike instead.    I assume we’ll come home from our hike exhausted, and cook dinner together.  If we do go out to eat, it’ll be at our favorite thai place, or somewhere else that we usually go.  Play some music, get some wine, and spend the evening relaxing together!

I’m not saying that I wouldn’t enjoy getting all dressed up and going to a fancy restaurant, getting wine and desert served to me.  I like that sort of date too.  I just don’t think it is worth it right now.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 9:24 am

    I noticed you guys go so many hikes. As far as I know i n socal there is not many beautiful hiking spots. I mean hikes are here usually dessert looking and no waterfall at the end. Do you have any secret spots?

  2. February 13, 2009 9:31 am

    @chicky – there are actually a lot! I hate the dry brown scrub brush hiking, but you are right, that is what a lot of hikes are. We haven’t done THAT many (yet) but we’ve done a couple “canyon” hikes that often have lots of water (solstice canyon, santa anitia canyon). We also went to San Jacinto (by palm springs) and the elevation was enough to make it non-deserty

    Anyway, I usually look at localhikes.com or http://www.modernhiker.com/ for ideas (I also have a book). You can search for ones with waterfalls 🙂

  3. February 13, 2009 9:49 am

    Sorry SP, but we refuse to accept the commercial holiday. Mrs. Bayou and I both had the same feeling back when we were dating even. I know…..I know……we’re just being fuddy-duddies, but that’s just the way we are.

  4. February 13, 2009 9:52 am

    I so agree with this: Hating Valentine’s Day is much more cliche than the holiday itself!

    I might just be a ol’ softy at heart, maybe that’s why, like you, I wrote a post in defense of the much-maligned holiday. 🙂

    http://wellheeled.wordpress.com/2009/02/12/in-defense-of-valentines-day/

    I hope it doesn’t rain this Saturday…

  5. February 13, 2009 10:19 am

    I think people think they’re being edgy.

    The holiday is based on some religious martyrdom or another, so it’s not something that is completely made up by Hallmark and Disney.

    Christmas has become commercial as well, but ultimately it’s about spending time with family. Similarly, Valentine’s Day is about showing love. In an ideal world, we’d see our families every weekend / profess our love in a million different thoughtful ways every day. Christmas and V-day are days where we make sure to make the time.

  6. February 13, 2009 10:36 am

    I don’t hate V-day, but I don’t really celebrate it either…BF spoils me enough every day! I just don’t like the pressure that Valentine’s Day puts on guys. That and the overpriced restaurant food.

    We are going for a century ride in Palms Springs (that is a 100 mile, organized ride on our bicycles). We’re driving back home after that, where i’ll make steak frites for us!

    Weather-wise, it won’t rain on Saturday, but I heard it will rain Sunday-Tuesday.

  7. February 13, 2009 10:58 am

    That sounds like a great day with wonderful company and exercise to boot 🙂

    Enjoy!

  8. Bonnie permalink
    February 13, 2009 12:05 pm

    I agree with you, Well-Heeled, and Paranoid Asteroid. I like Valentine’s Day! And I give to my boyfriend as well as receive! He gets a card and presents, too!

  9. February 13, 2009 12:29 pm

    @ Bonnie – Of course T gets stuff too! We don’t always do presents, but I had an idea of something I wanted to give him, so he gets one, though I’m not expecting an actual gift. And card, homemade likely 🙂

    I don’t know if I could actually say I “celebrate” valentines day, because what we are doing this weekend is stuff we’d do any weekend. But whatever. Add an EXTRA dose of love, maybe a little extra romantic music or something

    Hating valentines day is really not edgy. Maybe hating st. patricks day or something could be edgy.

  10. El Cheapo permalink
    February 13, 2009 1:03 pm

    Given the choice between V-day and SAD (Singles’ Awareness Day), I’ll choose the former. Happy V-day SP to you and your main squeeze!!

Trackbacks

  1. Dear Life, I love you, be Mine! « Stacking Pennies
  2. Be Mine! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

