Skip to content

2009 Travel Budget

February 16, 2009

I paid $55 extra for a direct flight back to the Midwest, rather than one with a stop over.  So worth it, and I’m so excited to see my niece/family!! I’m hoping to work enough extra hours in the pay period that my severely malnourished vacation balance won’t need to be touched.

I hope to pull a similar stunt near the end of March for long weekend in Portland.  We are considering taking a long train ride there, just for kicks.  I’ve traveled by train before, and I know it sounds a lot more romantic than it actually is.  Especially since there is no way we are shelling out the big bucks for sleeper cars.  But it is right along the coast!   It doesn’t save any money and we’ll arrive at my friends’ unshowered, but it kind of seems like the kind of thing you just have to do once.  Right?  Right?  Well anyway, it’ll be an adventure, even if it ends up being an uncomfortable one.

With those purchased, I’ll have taken care of two of my major travel plans for the year.  Also on the plate is a long weekend on Catalina, another ticket home (Christmas), and a chance of going to Germany with T (really not sure).  Everything else is going to be shorter trips camping/backpacking within driving distance of L.A.

  • Portland:  $400
  • Midwest (Feb):  $350
  • Catalina $400
  • Midwest (Christmas):  $100  (have a plot for another ticket scheme, otherwise this will be $200+ more)
  • Germany:    $1,000 (?????????????)
  • Backpacking:  $500 (any new gear + many trips)
  • TOTAL:  $2750

That comes out to $229/month.   I include $225/mo travel as a line item in my budget, and it is roughly what I’ve spent the last two years (last year about 1/2 was on backpacking supplies rather than trips).   Knocking out the Germany trip brings it down to $150/month.   A more realistic estimate of the costs of a trip to Germany probably would bring it up.

The point is, I can do all this on my current budget, without taking into consideration a raise or a change in living situation (both almost certain), and still meet all my savings goals.  Surprisingly, this is the first time I ran the numbers.  And now I’m excited!  🙂 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2009 12:09 pm

    Aww, I LOVE traveling by train! Yes, it takes longer, but you can get up, move around, look out at the scenery, and settle in at a real table for a game of cards! 😀

  2. February 16, 2009 3:48 pm

    Sounds like 2009 is going to be a memorable year!

  3. frugalcpa permalink
    February 16, 2009 4:25 pm

    Just knowing where you stand financially can be liberating. Especially when you find that you’re not in a bad position. Sounds like fun!

  4. February 16, 2009 9:40 pm

    Is that an 18 hour ride? Sounds like fun! I’d say you needed sleeper cars if it were longer than that, but you should be ok for a really long “day” trip. Bring something to watch on your laptop and something to read!

    And Germany sounds like great fun.

  5. stpaulgirl permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:24 am

    good travel plan. I cant seem to plan that far away (and I am planner) for a family of three, onw trip is your years budget.

Trackbacks

  1. Lists « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

